Sunday Post: October 23, 2016

he-basics-of

The Sunday Post is a weekly event hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a way to wrap up your week, share news/book hauls, and consolidate links to your posts & other posts you’ve liked throughout the week. this week was a great week because it was Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (which is basically a holiday)!

Personal News

Not much on this front this week. I did the 24 hour Readathon. Life was a little less hectic, but not much. I still have so much work to do, though!

Weekly Reading Updates

Books Finished This Week

Three Dark Crowns was the only finished pre-Readathon. The rest were completed yesterday and today. It was a good reading week! Reviews for all of these will be popping up soon!

Reading Challenges

  • Fall Bookish Bingo: Finished Illustrated (Flora & Ulysses), Black Cover (Three Dark Crowns), Graphic Novel (Fables Vol. 8). Still no bingo.
  • No updates on Read Harder 2016 this week. Though my food memoir & play are in progress!

Currently Reading

I started Across the Universe by Beth Revis around hour 20 or 21 last night. I couldn’t quite get it finished before falling asleep. I saw the author at the Southern Festival of Books & she was wonderful. I’m enjoying it so far. King Lear was not a good readathon choice, but I’m looking forward to finally finishing it. Yes, Chef I have on audio, so I’ll probably be listening to it on my commutes this week. I’m also almost done with The Unified Theory of Love and Everything, I just didn’t elect to finish it during Readathon.

Weekly Blog Updates

Blog Posts:

Reviews:

Blog Posts I Enjoyed This Week

Things I’m Looking Forward to this Week

  • Book Releases: The Science of Game of Thrones by Helen Keen (Oct. 25), A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson, Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

How was your week? Let me know below & feel free to link  up to your Sunday Post!

 

18 thoughts on “Sunday Post: October 23, 2016

  1. I read King Lear during a readathon once and I definitely wished that I had waited to read it when I didn’t feel so rushed. Shakespeare’s works always take me a while to read.
    Thanks so much for the shout out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The only reason I read that much this week was because of Readathon yesterday and having so much focused reading time. In a normal week, I can finish 1-2 books if I’m lucky! I’m excited to read the rest of the Grisha trilogy..and my TBR is crazy because I just add things all the time. I hop eyou have a good week, too!

      Like

  2. I tried to start across the universe a while back but just couldn’t get into it! And King Lear… not my favorite Shakespeare for sure!
    I haven’t read any of Fables stories in a long time. I want to get back to them though! So good!

    Like

    1. I know, they’re so fantastic, and such easy reads. I’m trying to finish the series, but now I’m at a point where I have to branch out into Jack of Fables, so it’ll take me awhile I think. Across the Universe is working for me in some ways, but not in others. I’m interested to see how it goes. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    1. Three Dark Crowns was so so good. Much more character driven than I thought but I liked that. One Readathon you might want to check out is 24 in 48, which is more flexible and you just try to read 24 out of 48 hours. I think the next one is in January and it’s super fun!

      Like

  3. I’m looking forward to reading Across the Universe at some point as I’ve been wanting to read that series. Three Dark Crowns is another one I’m interested in, and the Fables GN’s are supposed to be good too!

    Like

Leave a comment