Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Characters With Good Baby Names

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event sponsored by the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme from which to build a top 10 list. This week the theme is Top 10 Characters I’d Name a Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. after. While it’s currently not looking likely for me to have a child to name after these characters, I still decided to pick my Top 10 Characters with Good Baby Names. Maybe someday I’ll get to use them!

1. Emma, Emma by Jane Austen

I’ve just always loved this classic name, though this is one of the few Austen novels I’ve yet to read!

2. Tris, Divergent series by Veronica Roth

I know, I know, her full name is Beatrice, but I just love her nickname so much more.

3. Tobias, Divergent series by Veronica Roth

I would only use this name if everyone promised to never call him Toby, but I love the name and Four was my favorite character in the series.

4. Mirabella, Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I’m not sure yet how much I love this character as I’m still reading the novel, but I love the name, though I’m sure I’d shorten it to Mira for everyday use.

5. Shay, Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld

I have always liked the name Shay and this character was a good one throughout the series.

6. Sabriel, Abhorsen series by Garth Nix

This name is unusual, to be sure, but it’s always held a kind of beauty for me. I’m not sure there would be a good nickname either, but anyway, I still like it.

7. Ezra, Illuminae by Amie Kauffman & Jay Kristoff

I really love the name Ezra. Also, I really loved Ezra in this book. Hence, a good baby name.

8. Lyra, Replica by Lauren Oliver

This name is very pretty to me. I love the musical quality to it. I also can’t wait to read this book.

9. Arya, Song of Ice & Fire series by George R. R. Martin

Arya is one of my favorite characters in this series. She’s so plucky. Her storyline has gone weird places, but I still love her and her name.

10. Diana, All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness

I love Diana Bishop and this series, and the name Diana is so nice and not as weird as some of my other choices.

What were your top 10 choices this week? What do you think of my name picks? Let me know below.

9 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Characters With Good Baby Names

  1. I definitely agree with Sabriel! That series has always been my favourite and Sabriel is such a beautiful name. I’d definitely consider it as a baby name, although my future husband may disagree haha! I also agree with Ezra, love the name and the character.

    Like

Leave a Reply

