deweys-24-hour-readathon

My second Dewey’s Readathon has come and gone! It was so much fun! I felt like I didn’t read as many hours as I felt like I was, and I also felt like I wasn’t on social media quite as much, though I did quite a few mini challenges.

Closing Survey

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

I think the most daunting hour for me was hour 22, during which I finally ended up going to sleep. My goal was to make it later than April, so I did succeed in that!

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

I highly recommend the Fables comics series. When I felt like I just couldn’t tackle another novel right away, it was great to have the collected volumes, and it’s a quick read. It’s also very literary, with it being about fairy tale characters living in 90s New York in a special part of the city called Fabletown, where they’ve fled after an Adversary has taken over their Homelands.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season?

None that I can think of…I really enjoyed it again this time around!

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

I think the challenges and the blog were very well organized. The Goodreads group was also great!

5. How many books did you read?

I read out of 9 books, but only finished 7. I really tried to make it all the way through my last one, but sleep won out.

6. What were the names of the books you read?

I finished Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures, The Rose and the Dagger, Shadow and Bone, Fables Vol. 8: Wolves, Fables: 1,001 Nights of Snowfall, Fables: Vol. 9: Sons of Empire, and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I started King Lear and Across the Universe.

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

I think my favorite book was The Rose and the Dagger. It was a very fitting end to the duology.

8. Which did you enjoy least?

I’m not sure I have a least. I really enjoyed each book I read, though I felt like Fables Vol. 9 dragged a little more than the others, but it could be because of how late I started it.

9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I would love to participate again!! I can’t wait for April. I was a little worried the date would be the same as my sister’s wedding…but it’s a week later, so perfect timing!

Final Stats

Books Finished: 7 (see titles above)

Pages Read: 2, 094

Hours Read: 14 hours and 22 minutes

Audiobook Minutes Listened: 2 hours and 53 minutes

How did your Readathon go?? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon October 2016: Closing Survey & Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

