Release Day Review: The Driver by Hart Hanson

The Driver

The Driveby Hart Hanson is about Michael Skellig, the owner of a limousine company. He’s also a military veteran, and employs an interesting crew of other veterans, each with their own defined personalities, injuries, and traumas. While on a job, Skellig is waiting in the alley and hears voices of those he’s killed on the wind, warning of danger. He rushes inside to see someone attempt to kill his employer, and Skellig is blackmailed into serving exclusively as the driver to said employer, a skateboard star turned mogul named Bismarck Avila. He doesn’t love the arrangement, considering someone is still trying to kill Avila, but he nonetheless attempts to solve the mystery surrounding the murder attempt, while also dealing with his shambles of a relationship with a lawyer and the police who suspect him of various wrongdoings.

I will admit I picked this book up due solely to the fact that Hart Hanson, creator of Bones, wrote it. I love Bones and I’m still very sad it ended last spring. One thing I really liked about it was the wittiness and offbeat sense of humor it had. I was hoping to find those things here as well, and it did not disappoint. All of the characters are very  much their own people, which leads to some sadness, some happiness, and some out loud chuckles. Skellig, as the narrator, has a very dry sense of humor that I really appreciated and came to enjoy.

The story was more of a mystery than the thriller I expected, but it was solid nonetheless. In the beginning, it seemed to jump around a lot, but eventually settled into a cohesive narrative that I really enjoyed. The mystery was solid and drew me in, but I really loved reading about Skellig and his life the most. He fascinated me, as did his limo crew and the women in his life (a lawyer & her best friend–a cop). I would love to see a sequel written, if only to follow their lives for a longer amount of time.

Overall, this book was a solid mystery read. It was funny and entertaining, but also dealt with some of the realities of living in the US as a veteran. Skellig, who hears the voices of those he’s killed on the wind, is a fascinating character in his own right, but the supporting characters were great additions to his narrative. Just like on Bones, the mystery is important, but the people are really what make the novel what it is. I hope to see more of these characters in the future!

Note: I received this book from Netgalley & the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon, Author Twitter

Are you a Bones fan?? Are you going to pick this one up? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Release Day Review: The Driver by Hart Hanson

Leave a comment