Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Wrap Up & Closing Meme

Deweys

I borrowed the graphic from the Twitter page for Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, and I’m so excited to share my wrap-up with you this morning. I made it far later than I anticipated, considering I had a cold, and I still got a reasonable amount of reading in. I was really glad I decided to just relax and read this time, instead of pushing myself super hard. I didn’t finish as many books or pages as per usual, but I enjoyed my time spent on social media too (which is definitely part of the Dewey’s fun!)

Final Wrap-Up

Total Pages Read: 1, 470

Total Audio Minutes: 1 hr 31 min

Total Time Read: 12 hr 39 minutes

Total Time Read & Listened: 14 hr 10 minutes

Books Started Before the Readathon & Finished:

Books Started & Finished During Readathon:

I also participated in many challenges, most of which can be found on my Twitter account or on my update post.

Closing Meme

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? 

I think the most daunting hour for me was around hour 4, actually. I had been sick on Friday and was awake before my alarm Saturday, but I just could NOT keep my eyes open. I ended up taking a 30 minute nap around hour 5 & that was a fantastic decision.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a reader engaged for next year?

I really enjoyed having the books of a series to read this time around. I had read the first in the trilogy a very long time ago, but made sure I got both the 2nd and 3rd books and that kept me motivated to keep reading. So, I recommend the Grisha trilogy. I also highly recommend fun & upbeat comics/graphic novels like The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Lumberjanes, Nimona, etc.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season?

None that I can think of. I missed door prizes, but I really appreciated the intensive focus on giving this year.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

All of the challenges were varied & fun. I like that I can look forward to new challenges every time around.
5. How many books did you read?

I finished 5, 3 of which were started during the readathon.
6. What were the names of the books you read?

American Gods, The Audacity of Hope, The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 1, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising. I also started the audiobook for Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo.
7. Which book did you enjoy most?

American Gods was a re-read, but it was still my favorite. I’m looking forward to the TV show tonight!
8. Which did you enjoy least?

I don’t think I had a least. I liked Obama’s book, though it was a little hard to focus on some times as it was very politically heavy—but still a good book.
9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I’ll be here every time! (I just wish one of these times it would fall on a weekend where I could be off work on Monday…). Next time, I’ll definitely be a participant, though I do have some ideas for challenges brewing….

How was your readathon??? Leave me your links to your updates/wrap-ups! I’d love to see them!

One thought on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Wrap Up & Closing Meme

Leave a Reply

