Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon Update Post!!!

Hey all!! It’s Dewey’s Day! I, unfortunately, have a cold so may not be able to read as much as I’d like, but I’m going to read all day as much as I can! My goal is to update about every 3-4 hours or so, and this post will get filled in more frequently as I do. I just wanted to get the bare bones going!!

Hour 0

Currently Reading: American Gods by Neil Gaiman (re-read!)

Currently Listening: The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama (started before ‘thon)

Challenges: Opening Survey

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

I’m reading from Nashville, TN!
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I’m looking forward to continuing (finishing?) the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I’m most looking forward to eating some ice cream! (Oatmeal Cookie from Halo Top specifically).
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m a teacher and my two kitties will be reading with me today.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Instead of stressing over time read or listened today, I’m going to relax and have fun! (Last time, I kind of stressed a lot–no good!)

Hour 4

Currently Reading: American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Currently Listening: The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama

Pages Read: 218

Time Read: 2 hr 31 minutes

Time Listened: 25 minutes

Books Completed: 0

Cumulative Time Read & Listened: 2 hr 56 minutes

Challenges:

  • Cover From Memory challenge (sponsored by Outlandish Lit): I attempted to draw Everything Everything‘s cover from memory. I did not do so well.
  • The Meet-Up (sponsored by Pirates & Pixiedust): I wrote a short story about what would happen if Shadow from American Gods met Tatum from It All Started with Goodbye. I enjoyed writing it! Here’s my story:

Shadow saw the teenage girl across the pond, laughing and skipping rocks with her boyfriend. It made him think back to when he first met Laura, and how she understood him, and he understood her, and it was perfect. Before prison, before the supernatural war he found himself caught up in. The sun glanced off of the girl’s hair and the boy she was with left for a moment. Making his way across the lake, Shadow looked at the girl and quietly said: “Enjoy this time, when you can be carefree and laugh in the sun with the one you love. Life won’t always be so simple.” The girl looked at him, with a little bit of fear in her eyes.

“Um, ok,” she replied. “My boyfriend’s coming back. Also, I’m a really good screamer.”

“I didn’t mean to frighten you. You just remind me of someone, that’s all,” Shadow said as he shrugged, ambling away back to his car.

The boy returned from the car, present in hand. He noticed the pensive look on Tatum’s face, and asked her what was wrong.
“Nothing,” she replied happily. Smiling at him, she realized the stranger’s advice may not have been so strange after all.

Hour 7

Currently Reading: American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Currently Listening: The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama

Pages Read: 173

Time Read: 1 hr 55 minutes

Time Listened: 21.5 minutes

Books Completed: 0

Total Pages Read: 391

Cumulative Time Read & Listened: 5 hr 12.5 minutes

Challenges Since Last Update: 

 Hour 10

Currently Reading: about to start Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Currently Listening: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

Pages Read: 222

Time Read: 1 hr 20 minutes

Time Listened: 22 minutes

Books Completed: American Gods by Neil Gaiman (first 100 pages read earlier in the week), The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 1 by Ryan North, The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama (started earlier in week)

Total Pages Read: 613

Cumulative Time Read & Listened: 6 hr 54 minutes

Challenges Since Last Update: 

  • Picture Challenge (sponsored by The Book Monsters)–take a picture of a snack and current read.

 Hour 14

Currently Reading: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Currently Listening: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

Pages Read: 275

Time Read: 2 hours

Time Listened: 23 minutes

Books Completed: American Gods by Neil Gaiman (first 100 pages read earlier in the week), The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 1 by Ryan North, The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama (started earlier in week)

Total Pages Read: 888

Cumulative Time Read & Listened: 9 hours and 16 minutes

Challenges:

  • Suggested The Road by Cormac McCarthy as a one night read.
  • Mid Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now? Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
2. How many books have you read so far? Finished 3 (2 were started prior to read-a-thon)
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (I’m going to finish the Grisha trilogy!)
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I’m recovering from a cold, so I had to nap earlier, and I’ve had to cook etc. I’ve tried to audiobook when I can, but definitely haven’t gotten as much reading done as I thought I would.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? The fact that I’m not stressing about HOW MUCH I’ve read, but how I’m letting myself enjoy social media too. I like this relaxed feeling.

  • Reading Companions Challenge sponsored by The Reading Women

 Hour 18

I’ll be honest. Updates are getting a wee bit harder to formulate. I’m not quite sure how much I’ve read since my last update, and I’m getting sleepy….so I’m going to crawl into bed & update on Twitter for the rest of the evening (@reviewsandRaTs) and maybe do a few more challenges before giving in to sleep….and then do a big wrap up of the last few hours in the morning. Happy #readathon!

Leave a Reply

