toptentuesday2

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme from the bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there’s a different theme from which to build a Top 10 list. This week, the theme is books you’re looking forward to in the first half of 2017. Here goes…each title is followed by the anticipated release & each title also links to Goodreads. Also, there are 12 books on my list.

1. A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab, Feb. 21

conjuring-of-light

I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited to finish a trilogy EVER. Of course, I have mixed feelings about reading this book because then the series will be OVER and I will be sad. But hopefully not sad because beloved characters met their demise. Oh, the feels!

2. King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard, Feb. 7

kings-cage

Another series that will be concluding is the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard. I’m interested to see where it goes, considering I never saw the second installment ending where it did, in such chilling fashion. Personally, I’m hoping for some Cal & Mare action, which would be predictable, but I STILL WANT. Desperately.

3. Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth, Jan. 17

carve-the-mark

I loved the Divergent series. Not the movies. I really loved the gutsy ending that Roth wrote to the trilogy, even if I had mixed feelings about it for months afterward. It was nice that it was something outside of the norm. I’m looking forward to this new duology from her and the concept sounds intriguing.

4. Wires & Nerve, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyer, Jan. 31

wires-and-nerve

I love me some Lunar Chronicles, so obviously I’m looking forward to this graphic novel featuring Iko, everyone’s favorite android. I’m also looking forward to seeing the rest of the gang in illustrations, and the art on the cover looks awesome.

5. Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton, Feb. 2

traitor-to-the-throne

Yet another sequel, but I loved Rebel of the Sands much more than I thought I would. I mean, it’s the desert, and djinn, and a Western vibe. It’s just fun. I’m really eager to see how it ends!

6. Firebrand by Kristen Britain, March 9

firebrandUntil I started looking up release dates on Goodreads for this post, I had no idea that this book came out so soon! I love the Green Rider series and I don’t feel like enough people know about it. There’s usually a fairly long wait in between books. For instance, the last book in the series came out 3 years before this one will, but they’re usually substantially long…and I inhale the novel only to have to wait a few more years. It’s one of my favorites though..and if you like fantasy, you definitely need to check the series out (this will be #6, I’ve been reading them since high school).

7. Saga, Volume 7 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples, March 28

saga-vol-7

Saga is the best comic series I’ve picked up recently. It’s got humor and action and violence and love and SO MUCH. I’m only up to volume 5, but I’m so excited to read 6 and know that 7 is so close to coming out!

8. The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz, March 7

inexplicable-logic-of-my-life

This is from the author who gave the world Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. Enough said.

9. Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World by Kelly Jensen (editor), Jan. 24

here-we-are

Full disclosure: I went to college with the editor of this collection. Regardless of that, I’d be excited for this collection anyway. Described as a “scrapbook-style teen guide to understanding what it really means to be a feminist”, it features essays, comics, poems, and other forms of expression about what it means to be a feminist. It includes such wonderful people as Matt Nathanson (best singer ever!), ballet dancer Michaela DePrince, Wendy Davis, and an oodle of YA authors. I can’t wait to get my copy!

10. Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh, May 2

flame-in-the-mist

Renee Ahdieh wrote a delightful duology with The Wrath and the Dawn and The Rose and the Dagger. I loved the romance and adventure, and Flame in the Mist’s description makes me think it will do no less.

11. Loving vs. Virginia: A Documentary Novel of the Landmark Civil Rights Case by Patricia Hruby Powell, illustrated by Shadra Strickland, Jan. 31

loving-vs-virginia

I love that this book is coming out around the same time as a new movie about the case is being released too. I’m excited to see the film, and I’ve also heard really good things about this book. I know the basic story behind this case, about an interracial couple who fights for their right to get legally married, but I’m excited to learn more.

12. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, March 7

bone-witch

I’ve read this book already, but it’s on the list because I can’t wait for the rest of the world to experience it. It’s a dark fantasy, it’s reminiscent of Memoirs of a Geisha at times, and the main character is truly fascinating. I loved how the story was framed also. I received it from Netgalley & my review will run closer to the launch date.

So there’s my list! I’m sure I’m missing something. Which of these books will you try out? What are you most looking forward to reading? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Looking Forward to in the First Half of 2017

  1. Great list! I completely forgot to put The Bone Witch on my list! I knew I was forgetting some! lol. It sounds so good! You have lots of sequels to look forward to! That’s always exciting…and a little frustrating. haha! I’m not a patient person so sometimes I wait for a whole series to be out for I even start it. That way I don’t have to wait to find out what happens. I’m so weird…lol!

    Hope you are having a great week!

    Like

  2. Great choices! I have King’s Cage on my list this week as well. A few of the others (Carve the Mark, A Conjuring of Light, and The Bone Witch) were ones that I almost included. There are so many 2017 releases I’m looking forward to, it was hard to narrow it down!

    Here’s my TTT if you’re interested: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2016/12/13/top-ten-books-im-looking-forward-to-during-the-first-half-of-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

