12 Days of Diverse Retellings.jpg.png

From December 19 to December 30, I will be participating in the 12 Days of Diversity Readathon, which is focused on retellings. The readathon is sponsored by author Julia Ember (you can find more information here, though I’m pretty late in posting my TBR and sign-ups are no longer open, I don’t think). I’ve tried to categorize the ones I’m definitely going to read and then I’ve also added an “if I have time” category. Considering I either purchased or got all of these from the library, I will be reading them at all at one time or another.

Published in 2016

star-touched-queen

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi–Retelling of Hades and Persephone

Protagonists of Color

nora-and-kettle

Nora & Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor–Retelling of Peter Pan

street-love

Street Love by Walter Dean Myers–Retelling of Romeo & Juliet (wildcard)

LGBTQIA

marian

Marian by Ella Lyons–Retelling of Robin Hood

Non-Western Stories & Myths

a-thousand-nights

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnson–Retelling of 1001 Nights

Published by a Small Publisher

rules-of-ever-after

The Rules of Ever After by Killian Brewer–Retelling of The Princess and the Pea

Titles I’ll Read Time Permitting

Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriot–Retelling of Cinderella

Spinning Starlight by R. C. Lewis–Retelling of 12 Swans

And I Darken by Kiersten White–Retelling of Dracula

As I Descended by Robin Talley–Retelling of Macbeth

Beast by Brie Spangler–Retelling of Beauty and the Beast

Fairest by K. S. Trenton–Retelling of Sleeping Beauty

Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine–Retelling of The Phantom of the Opera

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler–Retelling of The Little Mermaid

Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller–Retelling of The Iliad

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury–Retelling of 1001 Nights/Aladdin

Read any of these? Have any diverse retellings you would recommend? Let me know in the comments!!

 

2 thoughts on “#12DaysofDiversity Retelling Readathon TBR

  1. I am so ashamed to say I haven’t read a single one of these books! In fact, I had no idea so many retellings even existed. You have completely opened my eyes to a genre I seem to have been missing entirely. Thank you! (And the TBR grows)
    I look forward to hearing about which ones I should read first. šŸ˜„

    Like

Leave a Reply

