Book Traveling Thursdays: International Day of Friendship Edition

168709

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly event created by Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Each week has a theme and participants pick the theme, research covers for the original edition and multiple countries, then post the original cover, all covers from the blogger’s country of origin, and your favorite and least favorite covers overall.

This week’s theme is International Day of Friendship, so I had to pick a book where friendship matters. One of the first books to pop into my head was Charlotte’s Web. I adored this book as a child and still pretty much love it as an adult. Wilbur and Charlotte’s friendship is endearing, as is Fern’s love for Wilbur, and the camaraderie between all the farm animals is also sweet. Please enjoy the covers I’ve chosen to share with you!

Original Edition

US

While this is a reproduced copy that has oft been repeated, as far as I can tell this is the original cover art, and definitely the most copied.

Additional US Editions

Scholastic//Avon//Animated Movie Tie-In//Kindle Edition//Live Action Movie Tie-in//Puffin Classics

My Favorite Covers

Croatian//Puffin Classics//Thai//Scholastic US

I think the Croatian one is my absolute favorite because it’s just so adorable. While Fern is absent, I love that it showcases Charlotte & Wilbur. The artwork for the Puffin Classics version has a lot of my favorite colors and I like the somewhat wallpaper aesthetic of it. I also think the colors in the Thai one are beautiful and the artwork is fairly classic.Finally, the pig on the Scholastic one is just too darn cute not to include it in my favorites.

My Least Favorite Covers

Indonesian//Portuguese//Russian

So let’s talk about these covers. The first one is kind of down right terrifying, and doesn’t really seem to feature a pig. The biggest animal looks more like a ram with a medallion to me. Also, the color choice is odd. With the Portuguese one, I like that Wilbur & Charlotte are both featured, but the color scheme is off and Wilbur looks too realistic for me. Finally, I just don’t love the Russian language version. Wilbur’s too pink. There’s just something about it I don’t love.

Which covers did you love or hate? What would be your book pick for International Friendship Day? Let me know in the comments!

Images courtesy of Goodreads.

11 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: International Day of Friendship Edition

  1. Such a good choice!! I totally forgot about this book, I’m so glad you picked it. It’s a beautiful friendship, I loved the book.
    I really like the covers you chose. I have a things for patterns, so the Puffin Classics is the one I would love to own. If I could read Thai, that would be my choice. It’s sooo pretty. The others are amazing as well.
    That Indonesian cover though… it’s terrifying!!! How did that ever got published? It’s a children’s book! I would never buy a kid a book with that cover hahah

    Like

  2. This book makes me cry every time! Such a great friendship. That blue cover is ridiculously pretty; I would love ti see that in real life. Good Choice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

