The Other Girl

In the past few years, I haven’t really read many thrillers/suspense/mystery novels, but lately I’ve been drawn to them after reading a spate of good ones, like Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinbrough, Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn, and He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly. That renewed interest led me to request The Other Girl from Netgalley, and I’m pretty glad I did. The thriller follows Detective Miranda Rader, who has had to earn respect and trust in her little town after a rough youth. She’s called to the scene of the violent murder of a college professor and finds a newspaper clipping linking him to a terrible night from her past. As others involved in that night turn up dead, evidence starts to pile up that points to Miranda, threatening to destroy her reputation, her career, and the life she’s built for herself.

Trigger Warnings: rape/attempted rape, abduction

From the very beginning, this book was very intriguing and hard to put down. Miranda is a compelling and likable character. She’s also a very strong woman, and while she makes poor choices sometimes, you’ll definitely feel like you’re in her corner. As we’re given snippets of her life, you grow to respect her even more. She does get involved in a romance throughout the course of the book, and I really could’ve done without that aspect, but it’s a relatively benign romance–and I was able to somewhat appreciate it.

The story itself starts with suspense and never really stops. It opens right up with the murder and then flits back and forth between Miranda’s current life as a detective, trying to solve the case, and her previous life as a rough and tumble teenager who occasionally got into trouble with the law, including the full story of the night that seems to be related to the current murder. The details are given sparingly and slowly, but enough that I vaguely guessed what happened. Over the course of the book, I slowly connected the dots. I had my suspicions all along, but the story did a good job of feinting multiple times so that I second guessed myself all throughout, which made it really hard to put down.

Overall, I really enjoyed this thriller. At times, it felt a bit predictable, but did a good job of making me unsure of my guesses until the very end. It covered some important topics but was also just a really enjoyable thriller with a strong female character at the lead. If you like thrillers, you’ll likely enjoy this one!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon, Author Website

Note: I received this book from Netgalley & the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

What thrillers have you read recently that you would recommend??

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review: The Other Girl by Erica Spindler

  1. I’m glad you’re reaching out to genres you wouldn’t normally read! That’s one of my favorite things about book blogging, it helps me branch out and become a more well-rounded reader. Great review, Sarah! Do you think you’ll keep seeking out more thrillers?

    Like

  2. Adding it to my TBR! I enjoy thrillers a lot. Recently, I’ve read The Ice Beneath Her, The Kind Worth Killing, I Let You Go, My Sister’s Bones & so many more!
    I’ve read Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough too but the ending blew my mind & I’m still kind of lost about it so haven’t been able to write a review 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

