Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole is sponsored by Lia @ Lost in a Story. It’s also reminding me of books on my TBR I forgot about (and I’ve even purchased 1 or 2!).

Here is what you do:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

I have a lot of books by Paolo Freire to start out with this week…as I also had to end with last week, so here goes!

1. Pedagogy of Freedom: Ethics, Democracy & Civic Courage by Paolo Freire

Pedagogy of FreedomThis book just seems so topical to what the world is going through right now in so many places. It mainly covers topics like questioning dominant ideologies, accepting fatalism, and why we shouldn’t just say poverty will always exist.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

2. Teachers as Cultural Workers: Letters to Those Who Dare Teach by Paolo Freire

Teachers as Cultural WorkersThis book is the last of Freire’s works and focuses on the relationship between students, teachers, and learning. As a teacher, I’m not sure I can pass up a book that is written to teachers.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

3. Education for Critical Consciousness by Paolo Freire

Education for Critical ConsciousnessThis looks to be in the vein of Freire’s other works & reviewers mention that the ideas in it are more expounded on in Pedagogy of the Oppressed. After seeing that, I am going to table it for now…and maybe come back around to it if I think that reading all of Freire’s works is a must.

Verdict: Go (for now).

 

 

4. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Crime and PunishmentI love Tolstoy. I’m not sure I’ve ever finished a book by Dostoyevsky, but this one has always interested me.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

5. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Brothers KaramazovWe’ve obviously entered another area of my TBR where I mass added a specific author. Regardless, it’s helpful to examine each book to see if the concept behind it still interests me. What I tend to love about Russian literature is the philosophizing behind everything. Since this is a deeply philosophical novel, I really think I must keep it. (Side note: I’m super bad at deleting anything from my to-read shelf. Also why it’s out of control!)

Verdict: Keep.

6. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

The IdiotI really can’t get rid of this one, simply because it was recommended in a college by a very dear friend. Even though we’ve grown apart, I still really want to read something he had such a high opinion of.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

7. The House of the Dead by Fyodor Dostoyevksky

House of the DeadI actually own this one, so…

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

 

8. Skin That We Speak edited by Lisa Delpit & Joanne Kilgour Dowdy

Skin That We speakThis is a collection of essays by many education experts I admire that explores language, race, and culture in the classroom. Pretty much checks all my professional boxes, so…

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

9. Class Matters by the New York Times

Class MattersA collection of NYT pieces about class in America that still seems relevant in today’s climate.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

10. Through Ebony Eyes: What Teachers Need to Know But Are Afraid to Ask About African American Students by Gail L. Thompson

Through Ebony EyesI teach in a pretty diverse school, and this book is based on research and gives concrete strategies. I need to get to this soon!

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

 

 

So another fairly unsuccessful week of not removing anything from my TBR. One thing I have learned, however, is that I think I need to start planning more classics & professional reading into my reading schedule in the future. What have you recently added to or taken away from your TBR?

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Down the TBR Hole #4

Leave a Reply

