the-reading-quest-sign-up-post

So I was thinking about doing Tome Topple again…and was unsure I’d get much read because it starts not long after school starts. Then, I was poking around the Interent, and found the Reading Quest from Aentee @ Read at Midnight. The challenge is based on a video game quest system, wherein you pick your class and follow your quest path to determine which books you will read. You can also engage in side quests. I just love this idea so much that I absolutely could NOT pass it up. It takes place from August 13th until September 10th. All artwork in this post came from the original post & was designed by CW of Read, Think, Ponder.

How it Works

The set up is like a bingo board. Instead of covering the bingo board, you follow a set quest path for your character class and complete the quest stages for that class. There are also optional side quests in the middle of the board. The four classes of character are Mage, Knight, Bard, & Rogue. Normally, in video games, I like to play as the rogue (even though I’m terrible at being sneaky), but after plotting out each quest path, I’ve decided to start out as Knight, since that will really help me with reading challenges & give me some awesome XP for the challenge. The stages in the Knight’s path are based on action & weaponry.

How to Earn Points

EXPERIENCE POINTS

  • All characters will start off with 10 Experience Points (EXP), and each book (in any format: physical, eBook, or audiobook) they complete for the Quest Board will add another +10 EXP. The exception are graphic novels/manga, which will give +5 EXP.
  • The exception is for books written by marginalized authors. These books will earn your characters bonus EXP.  For each book completed for the Quest, you will gain +20 EXP.
  • Adventurers who complete their character’s quest before the challenge period will earn a +50 EXP. You will earn an additional +30 EXP for any additional character quest you complete after that.
  • Because I am not interested in employing polynomials or convoluted equations for a reading challenge, I’m going to go ahead and say your character will level up with every +50 EXP. They all start at Level 1.

HEALTH POINTS

  • All characters begin with 10 Health Points (HP). Every 10 pages you read during the Quest will give you +1HP. The exception are graphic novels/manga, which will give you +1HP every 20 pages.
  • Tweeting on #TheReadingQuest hashtag (with meaningful tweets about your current reads, roleplay with your current character, book recommendations) will earn you +1HP each. You can have a maximum of +20HP from Social Media interactions
  • Photos of your #TheReadingQuest books or TBR pile will earn you 1HPeach. This contributes towards the maximum of +20HP from Social Media interactions mentioned above.
  • We will catalogue the points at the end via a masterpost, and find out who The Quest Champion is! This requires all participants interested in the prizes to link up in the Masterpost at the conclusion of the Quest!

My TBR

Reading Quest

As previously stated, I’m starting out following the Knight path, which is the very top row. Here’s my TBR for that path & potential picks for some of the side quests as well.

Knight Class Quests

The first book of a series: Fourth World by Lyssa Chiavari

Fourth World

This book is on my list for Diversity Bingo 2017 as well. It’s an Own Voices ACE Spectrum pick that’s set on Mars during two different time periods. It looks really good!

A Book with a Verb in its Title: How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents

This book is on my TBR for the Read Harder 2017 challenge as well, for the task that requires you to read a book with a central immigration narrative. I’ve been wanting to read this book for years because I loved In the Time of the Butterflies by Alvarez, so I’m really glad I’m finally getting around to it!

A Book with a Weapon on Its Cover: Now I Rise by Kiersten White

Now I Rise

I loved the first book in this series, and I’ve been majorly looking forward to this one! The cover is also gorgeous! It’s also on my TBR for the Litsy Reading Challenge task “judge by the cover”.

A Book with a Red Cover: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

underground-railroad

I’ve been meaning to get to this one since it came out. Reading it will also fulfill the Litsy Reading Challenge task “2016 Award Winner”. I’m so excited for this one, too!

A Book that has a TV/Movie Adaptation: Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly

Hidden Figures

I haven’t seen this movie yet because I wanted to read the book first. I’m also pushing myself to read more nonfiction, so this will be great for that as well.

Possible Side Quest Picks

Potions: A Book Concocted by 2+ Authors: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Good Omens

I’ve read only one Discworld novel, but I’ve read almost everything that Neil Gaiman has written. This looks like an awesome collaboration!

Grind: A Book with 500+ pages: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

A Little Life

This comes in at a whopping 720 pages. I’ve heard many good things about, but have also heard its intense. I’m still very much looking forward to reading it (and may read it during the amount of time that overlaps with Tome Topple!).

Time Warp: A Book Set in the Future or the Past: The Girls by Emma Cline

The girls

I bought this book last year, but just never got around to reading it. It’s set in the 1960s. Love this cover, too!

Respawn: Read a Book You Previously DNF: The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy

Soldiers Wife

I tried to read this at a time when I wasn’t super into historical fiction. I’m still not super into it, but I’ve found that I enjoy it more recently, so I’m hoping maybe I will enjoy this one now.

Expansion: Read a Companion Novel or Short Story: Four: A Divergent Story Collection by Veronica Roth

Four

I’ll admit I loved the Divergent series far more than anyone else did. I actually thought the ending was pretty fitting…even if I initially hated it. Above all, I loved Four & I’ve been meaning to get to this collection for awhile.

Mini-Game: Read a Graphic Novel, Novella, or Poetry Collection

I’m going to leave this one a little vague for now–but I plan on reading whatever Fables or Jack of Fables volume I’m up to when the challenge starts.

Animal Companion: Book Referencing an Animal in the Title: Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis

Fifteen Dogs

This one has been on my TBR for awhile. The premise looks interesting. It’s about the gods Hermes and Apollo making a bet that leads them to give fifteen dogs human intelligence and consciousness to see what happens. I’m very interested to see what happens!

There you have it! These are my picks for my first reading quest pack! I can’t wait to start it!! Are you participating? Have you read any of these?

 

7 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest Sign Up Post

  1. You are so right to read Hidden Figures before you see the movie! Both the book and movie are good (something I rarely say), but the book is realistic and the movie does take cinematic license to streamline the plot, it’s hard to get those images out of your head while reading later.

    Also a warning that the Young Reader’s Edition has a very similar cover to the regular adult book – I’ve read both and would highly recommend the full version if you don’t mind dense nonfiction, it’s captivating!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

