Down the TBR Hole

I love this weekly event! It’s helping me whittle down my TBR. It’s sponsored by Lia @ Lost in a Story. It’s also reminding me of books on my TBR I forgot about (and I’ve even purchased 1 or 2!).

Here is what you do:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

1. Great House by Nicole Krauss

Great HouseThis is a book about a desk and the different lives it’s passed through. It’s also written by the author of The History of Love, which I remember LOVING. I need to read this, obviously.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

2. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Oliver TwistThis is a classic. I’ve read and enjoyed A Tale of Two Cities. The only reason I haven’t read this one yet is because I have to be in the mood for Dickens’ writing style & to take a longer time with a book. Someday, I will get to this one.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

3. The Paradox of Choice: Why More Is Less by Barry Schwartz

Paradox of ChoiceThis is a book I added when I was still reading a lot of nonfiction regularly, particularly psychology and sociology. I was prepared to remove it from my TBR–but then I looked at the reviews from friends on Goodreads, and realized it’s likely worth a shot. I think my goal next year will be to read MORE nonfiction, since that’s a LOT of what’s old on my TBR.

Verdict: Keep.

 

4. How We Decide by Jonah Lehrer

How We DecideThis book is about neuroscience and how we can use different parts of our brain to help with different decisions. Neuroscience is a topic that’s endlessly fascinating to me, so I’m likely still going to read this (again…I NEED TO READ NONFICTION MORE!)

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

5. Matched by Allie Condie

MatchedI think this book suffered from a case of dystopian burnout. For awhile, I was reading LOTS of dystopian YA series. I still read some, but I got tired of the tropes and predictability. The premise doesn’t interest me as much as it used to, either.

Verdict: Go.

 

 

 

6. The Guinea Pig Diaries: My Life as an Experiment by A. J. Jacobs

Guinea Pig DiariesA. J. Jacobs is amazing. I loved The Year of Living Biblically so, so, so much (and I think it’s going to be a TV show soon?). I can’t willingly bypass an opportunity to read another of his books. The Know-It-All is also pretty fantastic.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

7. Killing Rage: Ending Racism by bell hooks

Killing ragebell hooks’ books always give me things to wrestle with and think about as I look at myself and my privilege. This book about feminism and race is still so relevant and something I really need to pick up.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

 

8. Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire

pedagogy of the oppressedThis is a must-read for teachers everywhere. I’m pretty sure I even own a copy. Must get to soon!

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

 

 

9. We Make the Road by Walking: Conversations on Education and Social Change by Myles Horton & Paulo Freire

We Make the RoadThis book reads as conversations between two major leaders in the field of education and social change. Both come from different perspectives. I think I must also read this one.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

10. Pedagogy of Hope: Reliving Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire

Pedagogy of HopeI obviously went on a kick of adding Paulo Freire’s books to my TBR. This one takes the content of Pedagogy of the Oppressed and focuses in on Latin America and the Third World.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

 

So, after another heavy week of education books and nonfiction, I was mostly unsuccessful in removing anything from my TBR (except 1 book). However, like I said at the top, I also like that I’m being reminded of all of the good things I’ve added to my TBR so long ago. Hopefully this motivates me to get reading!

What books have you added or deleted from your TBR this week? Read any of these?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #3

  1. I love this series! I saw it and immediately jumped on my own TBR to decide if books I added in 2011 needed to stay or go. You’re honestly not missing much by not reading Matched. The first book was pretty good (or it was back in the day when dystopians were the rage) but the other two in the trilogy were horrific.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re the second person to tell me it was a good idea to delete that one, so I think I must’ve made a good choice! I am terrible about reading nonfiction, unless it’s a memoir on audiobook. I have Ron Chernow’s biography of Alexander Hamilton on my shelf…I just keep staring at it. 🙂 I think it’s because I’m so much slower at reading nonfiction, so it doesn’t appeal as much…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Matched is not worth your time, and the series got worse as the books went on. The Paradox of Choice was worth reading.

    Speaking as an A.J. Jacobs fan (I loved the same two books you did), I felt that The Guinea Pig Diaries was his worst book. It doesn’t focus on one theme but several different experiments and it was missing a lot of the depth and interest I found in his other books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

