Down the TBR Hole

So, I started doing this meme from Lia @ Lost in a Story last week. I did it on Saturday last week, but since my blog will be monopolized by 24 in 48 this weekend, I’m going to do it on Friday this week. Bear with me, because it may continue to hop around a bit.

Here are the rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

I did decide I’m not going to publish starting TBR count & ending TBR count each week, since I’m continuously adding new things to my list, it’s just a meaningless statistic. So here goes the 10 books for this week!

1. Columbine by Dave Cullen

Columbine

Dave Cullen is an investigative reporter who wrote this definitive account of what happened during the Columbine school shooting. I think I’ve been avoiding it because I know it will be a tough read, but it’s still very much relevant and very important to read.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

2. Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still AliceI added this when a group at my church was reading it for a discussion with afternoon tea. I never got to it (or the discussion). I’m sure it is a good book, but I don’t see myself getting to it soon.

Verdict: Go.

 

 

3. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

RebeccaThis has been on my TBR for FOREVER. I’m pretty sure I already know the twist, but I think I’ll get to it someday.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

4. The Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner’s Semester at America’s Holiest University by Kevin Roose

Unlikely DiscipleThis book follows a secular, liberal journalist as he enrolls at Liberty University (an evangelical Christian college) for a semester. I added it to my TBR because I was looking to find things that were in the same vein as The Year of Living Biblically by A. J. Jacobs. I was prepared to take it off, but then I read a review by a blogger I trust while I was reading the synopsis, and her review swayed me to think I will enjoy it when I get to it.

Verdict: Keep.

5. You Are Not a Gadget by Jaron Lanier

You are not a GadgetAfter re-reading the synopsis of this non-fiction tech book, I find I’m just really  not that interested. I think it was getting a lot of buzz at some point, but I’m 99.99% sure I’ll never read it.

Verdict: Go.

 

 

6. Because of Race: How Americans Debate Harm and Opportunity in Our Schools by Mica Pollack

Because of RaceThis book talks about different debates people have over opportunity in education and provides arguments and rebuttals for a few different issues. I’m still interested in the topic. I’m not sure when I’ll get to it, but this is right up my professional reading alley.

Verdict: Keep.

 

7. City Kids, City Schools: More Reports from the Front Row edited by William Ayers, Gloria Ladson-Billings, Gregory Michie, and Pedro Noguera

City Kids City SchoolsI have professional crushes on Gloria Ladson-Billings and Pedro Noguera, so this one automatically stays. One thing I’m learning from going through my TBR is that I need to pick professional reading more frequently!

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

8. The Sherlockian by Graham Moore

SherlockianI still really want to read this novel. I’m waiting until I finish all of the original Sherlock Holmes writings, just because I think I’ll enjoy it more then.

Verdict: Keep.

 

 

 

9. The Death and Life of the Great American School System: How Testing and Choice Undermine Education by Diane Ravitch

Death and Life of Great American School SystemAnother non-fiction book about education. I’m glad I’m being reminded of these! This one is about how testing, privatization, and using business models for education are not necessarily positive. While written in 2010 (when I started teaching!), these are still hugely relevant issues now. It’s amazing how little education debates have changed, and how few people in charge of education actually have meaningful experience in the field.

Verdict: Keep.

10. Tales from the Teachers’ Lounge: What I Learned in School the Second Time Around–One Man’s Irreverent Look at Being a Teacher Today by Robert Wilder

Tales from the Teachers LoungeOkay, so the idea of humorous essays about teaching experiences is still appealing to me. However, I read several of the Goodreads reviews and multiple readers pointed out that this author’s take seems to be mean-spirited and negative when talking about other teachers. I don’t need that. Thus, I think I’m going to pass.

Verdict: Go.

 

So, this week wasn’t so successful on the weeding out front. I only cut out 2 books, but it was successful in reminding me of how many books about education I need to get caught up on! Have you read any of these? Did I make good choices? Hope you’re having a good week!

3 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #2

Leave a Reply

