24 in 48.png

Hello, all!! As of 11:01 p.m. CST, 24 in 48 is officially HERE (I follow the official start time)! I’m so thrilled to be participating again & once again shooting for the full 24 out of 48 hours. It’s basically my last free weekend of summer, so I’m super excited that the two coincided. I didn’t really make a TBR for today, but I have stacks of library books, including fiction, nonfiction, & graphic novels, as well as an audiobook ready to go! I’m going to try & update this post at least every 4 hours or so & I’ll include challenges/links to my challenge responses, as well as various stats. I’ll also be posting more frequent updates/comments/etc. on Litsy @ReviewsandReadathons & on Twitter @reviewsandRaTs, if you’re interested. If you’re joining, feel free to leave me a link to your update post as well!

Hour 0

Currently Reading: Finishing Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore & catching up on chapters in The Hobbit for the Litsy #LOTRChapteraDay readalong

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Opening Survey: 

  1. Where in the world are you reading from? Nashville, TN!
  2. Have you done the 24 in 48 readathon before? Yes! This is my 3rd one, I think. 
  3. Where did you hear about the readathon, if this is your first? This isn’t my first, but I originally heard about it on the Facebook page for the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon. 
  4. What book are you most excited about reading this weekend? I didn’t make a TBR, but I’m really hoping to get to A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir.
  5. Tell us something about yourself. I’m a teacher, and this is my last pretty free weekend before school starts back, so I’m super excited to spend it reading with lots of other book nerds and bookworms!
  6. Remind us where to find you online this weekend. You can find me here at my blog, as well as on Twitter (@reviewsandRaTs) and on Litsy (@ReviewsandReadathons). Happy reading! 

 

Hour 9

Currently Reading: about to start Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed & read chapter 5 of The Hobbit

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding: A Memoir by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 1 hr 21 min (currently listening)

Cumulative Pages Read: 107 pages

Challenge Updates: I posted my Hour 6 shelfie on Twitter & Litsy!

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues (last 88 pages read during the ‘thon) & chapters 3 & 4 of The Hobbit (I’m only reading 1 chapter a day, so I’m counting this as “completed”).

Hour 13

Currently Reading: about to start A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 4 hr 32 min

Cumulative Pages Read: 386 pages

Challenge Updates: Hour 12 challenge: Bookish Road Trip: Name 3 locations you would go to (don’t have to be realistic). Here were mine:

  1. Sept-Tours to spend time with the Bishop-Clermont clan.
  2. Ketterdam to make mischief with the crew from the Six of Crows duology.
  3. Red London to sail around with Lilah, Kell, Rhy, & Alucard.

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

Hour 16

Currently Reading: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 6 hr 32 min

Cumulative Pages Read: 581 pages

Challenge Updates: None yet!

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

Hour 21

Currently Reading: starting Jack of Fables vol. 3 by Bill Willingham (graphic novel break!)

Currently Listening: What I was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 8 hr 51 min

Cumulative Pages Read: 838 pages

Challenge Updates: I recommended some diverse #ownvoices books in the comments for the last challenge post. My recommendations were Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson, She Wore Red Trainers by Na’ima B. Robert, History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera, & the Inheritance Trilogy by N. K. Jemisin.

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed, A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Hour 24

Currently Reading: about to start Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, also started & read a few essays from Chicks Dig Time Lords edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 11 hr 27 min

Cumulative Pages Read: 1,129 pages

Challenge Updates: Posted a challenge about snacks/TBR piles to Twitter here.

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed, A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir, Jack of Fables Vol. 3: The Good Prince by Bill Willingham et al., Jack of Fables, Vol. 4: Americana by Bill Willingham et al.

Hour 36 (?)

Currently Reading: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 14 hr 15 minutes

Cumulative Pages Read: 1, 363 pages

Challenge Updates: Posted some spine poetry on Litsy. You can see it here.

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed, A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir, Jack of Fables Vol. 3: The Good Prince by Bill Willingham et al., Jack of Fables, Vol. 4: Americana by Bill Willingham et al.

Hour 38

Currently Reading: trying to pick something as we speak

Currently Listening: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 16 hr 9 min

Cumulative Pages Read: 1, 558 pages

Challenge Updates: Posted a photo of some bookish swag here.

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed, A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir, Jack of Fables Vol. 3: The Good Prince by Bill Willingham et al., Jack of Fables, Vol. 4: Americana by Bill Willingham et al., Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

 Final Update

Cumulative Time Read/Listened: 24 hours!

Cumulative Pages Read: 2,242 pages

Challenge Updates: I picked 5 characters for a bookish dinner party: Alucard and Lilah from Shades of Magic, King Zachary and Karigan from the Green Rider series, and Gallowglass from the All Souls trilogy (with extra seats for Diana and Matthew!)

Books Finished: Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore, Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed, A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir, Jack of Fables Vol. 3: The Good Prince by Bill Willingham et al., Jack of Fables, Vol. 4: Americana by Bill Willingham et al., Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, The Clockwork Dynasty by Daniel H. Wilson, and Torchwood: Exodus Cose by John and Carole Barrowman

 

3 thoughts on “24 in 48 Update Post!

Leave a Reply

