Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR hole is a weekly meme created by Lia @ Lost in a Story. Its goal is to pare down your TBR weekly by going through 5-10 books, starting at the beginning of your TBR. I’ve been seeing it around, and seeing as my Goodreads to-read shelf currently has 2,850 books, I think it’ll be a fun way to slim that down a bit. (It gets so big because I see/hear about books & just add them…and I’ve been meaning to clean it up for awhile now). I’m also going to go through 10 at a time, just because I have so many to get through!

It works like this:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

So…here goes nothing. When I start at the very beginning of my to-reads shelf, we’re going all the way back to 2011.

Anything Goes by John Barrowman

Anything Goes

This is John Barrowman’s first memoir. I’ve been in love with him since I first saw Torchwood. I’ve also read his second memoir and quite enjoyed it. I really would like to locate this on audio, quite honestly.

Verdict: Keep.

 


The Children in Room E4: American Education on Trial by Susan Eaton

Children in Room E4This book was written by an investigative journalist after spending 4 years at an all-minority student school in Connecticut. Since I’m a teacher, and journalistic non-fiction is my favorite kind to read, and school segregation is still a highly important issue in the field, I think I’ll still likely get to this one someday.

Verdict: Keep.


NPR Classic Driveway Moments: Radio Stories that Won’t Let You Go by National Public Radio

NPR DrivewayThis is on audio, but somehow it just doesn’t appeal to me as much as it used to. I don’t think I’ll get to it.

Verdict: Go.


 

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore

LambThis is the story of Jesus’ whole life as told by his resurrected best friend, Biff. It’s supposed to be very funny and entertaining, and I’ve heard really good things. I know I have several Christopher Moore books on my list, and I just can’t let this one go.

Verdict: Keep.


Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Her Fearful SymmetryOkay, so real talk, The Time Traveler’s Wife is one of my ALL TIME favorite books. \When I added this, I added it purely because it was by the same author. I’ve heard very mixed reviews about this one, and I’ll admit that the synopsis doesn’t necessarily call out to me. While I’m sure it will continue to be on my radar, I think I’m going to table it for now.

Verdict: Go (for the time being)


Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach

StiffMary Roach is an author I frequently add to my TBR and yet, I don’t think I’ve ever actually read anything by her. Her topics are just so randomly interesting. However, at this time, reading about cadavers makes me squirm a bit, and I think I may explore some of her other works first.

Verdict: Go.


Can We Talk About Race?: And Other Conversations in an Era of School Resegregation by Beverly Daniel Tatum

Can We Talk About RaceTatum’s other book about race and education, Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?, was excellent. This one was written 10 years ago, but still relevant, as I find that institutional racism has changed little for the better and mostly for the worse. This one also comes in at a rather short 147 pages, so it’s definitely worth a read.

Verdict: Keep.


Crossing Over to Canaan: The Journey of New Teachers in Diverse Classrooms by Gloria Ladson-Billings

Crossing Over to CanaanLadson-Billings also wrote another wonderful book about education and diversity called The Dreamkeepers. I’m pretty sure I added this book after reading that one. This book follows 8 new teachers in a program called Teach for Diversity and seems to offer concrete strategies for enhancing education in diverse classrooms. Even though I’m about to enter my 7th year of teaching, it never hurts to learn some more.

Verdict: Keep.


Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Tara O’Shea

Chicks Dig Time LordsI love pop culture essays a lot. This collection includes essays (all written by women) exploring different aspects of the Whoniverse, which is right up my alley. It’s worth noting that Lynne M. Thomas also has edited collections about women and comics, gaming, and the Whedonverse.

Verdict: Keep.


On the Road by Jack Kerouac

On the RoadThis is the perfect example of a book added to my TBR simply because it’s a classic. The story admittedly doesn’t really interest me & it feels good to get that off my chest.

Verdict: Go.

 

 

So that’s my first time Down the TBR hole! After going through these 10 books, I’ve whittled my TBR shelf down from 2,850 to 2,847. I kept 6 books, but totally added Chicks Dig Gaming to my TBR, thus negating one I got rid of. I may not be very good at this, but I think it’ll get easier as I go.

Have you read any of these books? Did I make the wrong choice on any of them? Let me know what you think!

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #1

  1. Wow. We have VERY similar reading tastes because I’ve read almost all of these (okay, maybe I just read too much).

    Anything Goes by John Barrowman was an interesting read but doesn’t cover much about Doctor Who, more about his early life and how his career got started. Your audiobook instincts are probably right.

    I just added The Children in Room E4 to my TBR! Lamb was okay, not the funniest Moore book but worth reading if you like him.

    I’m also a huge fan of The Time Traveler’s Wife. Her Fearful Symmetry has the classic Niffenegger style but the thing about TTW that attracted a lot of people was the story arc within a non-chronological book. HFS is darker and spookier, like Niffenegger’s bookmobile suicide story. It’s traditional gothic horror set in the modern day.

    I’ve read a lot of Mary Roach and even met her once. Bonk is the best of her books I’ve read so far, though people will judge you for reading it on the train. Stiff is good but not for the squeamish.

    The next two sound like definite keepers to me!

    Chicks Dig Time Lords was an interesting read and fast. On the Road was a book that most people read to tick off a box on their classics list, it doesn’t really hold up outside of the culture it was written in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is there such a thing as reading too much? I really don’t think so, myself. I’m glad to get so much input from you on all of these books!

      I have read John Barrowman’s other memoir that covers more of the celebrity type stuff, and so I was really interested in reading more about his life before then. It seems from the minimal poking around I’ve done that the audio is either hard or impossible to find, at least in the US. I’m going to continue poking though just to make sure.

      I haven’t actually read any of Moore yet, but I’ll reserve judgment until after I read at least 2, especially if Lamb is my first.

      As for Niffenegger, I think the fact that the book is SO different from Time Traveler’s Wife is what’s putting me off. Time Traveler’s Wife was just SO special to me. The writing, the characters, the story. Even though it was time travel, it was also literary fiction and I just adored all of it!

      Bonk & Grunt by Roach are still both on my TBR. Just when I got to thinking about it, I wasn’t sure how I felt about a book about dead bodies. It may still get added back someday!

      I just ordered a copy of Chicks Dig Time Lords–can’t wait for it to come!

      Thanks for sharing all of your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

