Book Traveling Thursdays: National Pet Day Edition

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly event hosted by Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. Each participant picks a book to match a theme, then finds the original cover, the covers for your country, and identifies favorite/least favorite covers. For more information, check out the Goodreads page.

This week’s theme is National Pet Day & the directions were to feature a book that has your favorite pet in it. I have 2 precious kitties, so I decided to go with Old Possum’s Book for Practical Cats by T. S. Eliot. Before that, though…here’s some precious pictures of my babies. The darker one is Charlie & the lighter one is Remy.

 

Original Edition

Original Cover

US Editions (as far as I can tell)

Favorite Covers

Greek//UK//UK//UK//US

I really like the colors on the Greek covers. The UK covers I all love for different reasons. The first is because it reminds me of the book’s link to the musical (and I love the musical). I like simplicity of the pink book with the cat silhouette. The more modern cover I really like because the cat looks like he’s being mischievous, the illustration is cute, and it also harks to the musical with the stage lights. On the US cover, I love the variety of cats and the color of the background.

Least Favorite Covers

Romanian//UK//Unsure

I find the Romanian cover to be a little odd, with the giant cat towering over a city and the bloodred title. The cat is cute, but I find the cover unfitting for the book of poems. The middle cover is just blah. The last cover is also kind of a generic classics cover and I dislike (not sure what country it’s from–probably UK or US).

What book did you feature for National Pet Day? What’s your favorite pet? Let me know in the comments!! (and feel free to link to your Book Traveling Thursday!)

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: National Pet Day Edition

Leave a Reply

