Queens of Geek

I absolutely ADORED this book. For me, there was nothing that I didn’t love. The story is told from the alternating viewpoints of Taylor and Charlie, two best friends who are attending SupaCon (a San Diego Comic-Con style event). Charlie is an up and coming YouTube vlogger who has also recently starred in a cult hit zombie movie and she is attending the con as a guest. Taylor and Jamie, her two best friends, are attending with her and they are all so excited to be there. As the story unfolds, we follow both girls as they embark on love stories of their own.

I hardly even know where to start with this review. There’s SO MUCH to love. I suppose we can start with the actual geekiness of it all. There were so many pop culture references here to adore. I didn’t get all of them, necessarily, but I could not have been happier about the inclusion of one of my favorite fandoms–Supernatural! I feel like properties like superheroes and Dr. Who get so much play in books, but I do believe this is the first time I’ve encountered so much Supernatural goodness in a book. Definite plus. I also loved the discussions of fandom and what fandom can mean to different people. Taylor, for instance, has anxiety about a lot of things stemming from other things about her that I will leave for you to uncover. For her, the con is a place where she can find community and start to feel a little more at home as her whole self, anxiety and all. I can relate to this, as I never feel more like I’m among my people than when I’m at DragonCon in Atlanta, GA, a trip I make yearly with a friend from high school. Fandoms are fun, the people in them are generally amazing, and I’m so happy to see a YA novel that makes it awesome (aka I maybe could’ve used this book as a teenager!).

This book was also just a really nice distraction. It’s a fun, light, generally happy story with all kinds of fluff, and sometimes you just need a read like that. I also loved the inclusion of two different types of love stories. One, between Taylor and her best guy friend Jamie, and the other between Charlie and her long-time vlogger crush Alyssa. Charlie is unapologetically bisexual and I love how she was portrayed here. Amongst these mostly fluffy love stories, there were also moments of great social commentary. Some of my favorites included assertions about equality, conversations about whether bisexuality is “real” (with Charlie’s douche-y ex), etc. For me, it was really amazing to see such a diverse, geek-y novel that I really feel is utterly relatable for lots of different kinds of people not widely represented in YA lit.

If I haven’t convinced you yet please let me know in the comments how I can convince you further to read this novel. If you’re geeky in any way, shape, or form, I just know you will love this book! It’s a quick read and hard to put down, and it’s just FUN (and the cover is so pretty). That’s the best way to describe it. Please, please, please check this book out!

Note: I received this book from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

What’s your fandom: book, TV, or otherwise? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

