diverse-spotlight1

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. In this event, bloggers highlight a diverse read that they’ve read and enjoyed, one they want to read, and one that’s yet to come out. I alternate this event with Book Traveling Thursdays.

A Book I Have Read

Queens of Geek

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

I absolutely loved this book! It was just released this week, but I was lucky enough to have a Netgalley of it. My full review is coming on Friday, but I just adored it so much I couldn’t wait to share it. It follows 2 best friends as they attend a ComiCon type event. It alternates viewpoints between Charlie, a bisexual Asian Australian teenager, and Taylor, her best friend with autism and related anxiety. Such a beautiful little book with awesome pop culture references (yay Supernatural!) and some social commentary as well. It’s a great book if you’re looking to mark off your Neuro-Diverse MC (Own Voices) or Bisexual MC (Own Voices) space on your Diversity Bingo 2017 card!

A Book I Want to Read

A Hope More Powerful

A Hope More Powerful than the Sea: The Journey of Doaa Al Zamel: One Refugee’s Incredible Story of Love, Loss, & Survival by Melissa Fleming

I just had a friend recommend this novel on Facebook today, and I immediately added it to my TBR. I’m struggling with my country’s take on refugees in the last few months, and I want to understand more about the refugee crisis.

An Upcoming Release

A Colony in a Nation

A Colony in a Nation by Chris Hayes

This is a nonfiction book that looks at race in America, and how very little progress we’ve actually made in the last 40 years. I’m a sociology major at heart and this book seems right up my alley– a book about how our world isn’t post-racial at all.

What did you feature this week (if you participated)? Will you read any of these? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight #6

Leave a Reply

