End of Year.jpg

Yes, I waited until the last possible second to post this…but that’s because I’ve been on break and knew I was going to read a lot more before 12/31. So far, on break, I have finished 11 more books, so that’s why I waited. This book survey comes from Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner and it seemed like a good way to wrap up my reading year (I borrowed her pretty graphic,too!). Tomorrow (hopefully), I’ll be posting more of my bookish/bloggish goals for the New Year, too! Normally, I’d explain each pick at least a little, but considering the length of the survey, I’ve opted not to here. If you’re curious about why I picked a book, please let me know in the comments & I’ll be happy to explain!! Each title links to Goodreads for more information. I’ve also reviewed many of them.

Bookish Stats

Number of Books Read: 147

Number of Re-Reads: 2

Genre I Read the Most From: Fantasy (not entirely sure, but this is my best guess. I plan on tracking better next year!)

Best in Books

Best Book I Read This Year

This was a really hard pick, but I’m going with…

20764879

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

Because it was a pretty much perfect sequel…and I remember it with the most fondness (I’ve come to realize my “snap” ratings on Goodreads don’t always coincide with how I feel months later…).

Book I Was Excited About and Thought I Would Love More, But Didn’t

basil-victoria

Basil & Victoria: London Guttersnipes (#1-#5) by Edith Yann

Most Surprising Book I Read (in a Good Way)

house-on-mango-street

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Book I “Pushed” the Most People to Read

audio-2

As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes (highly recommend in AUDIO).

Best Series I Started

Shades of Magic series by V. E. Schwab

Best Sequel

20764879

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

Best Series Ender

16054217 (1)

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness

Favorite New Author I Discovered

Victoria/V. E. Schwab!!

Best Book from a Genre I Don’t Usually Read

flora-ulysses

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo and K. G. Campbell (I don’t read a lot of middle grades!)

Most Action-Packed/Thrilling/Unputdownable Book

illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Book I’m Most Likely to Re-Read in 2017

Shades of Magic series by V. E. Schwab

Favorite Cover

the-marvels

The Marvels by Brian Selznick

Most Memorable Character

I think my most memorable character was…hmmm. I want to say The Darkling from Shadow & Bone. My relationship to him as a reader is complicated.

Most Beautifully Written Book

126381

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Most Thought-Provoking/Life-Changing Book

between-the-world-and-me

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Book I Can’t Believe I Waited Until 2016 to FINALLY Read

418xpeLSRrL._AC_US160_

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (& the rest of the Lunar Chronicles, too!)

Favorite Passage or Quote

“Love is a revolutionary act.” –Madeline Thien, Do Not Say We Have Nothing

Shortest Book

we-should-all-be-feminists

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (49 pages)

Longest Book

winter

Winter by Marissa Meyer (832 pages)

Book That Shocked Me the Most

23174274

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

That ending.

OTP Of the Year

Matthew Clairmont & Diana Bishop from the All Souls Trilogy. Oh so many times yes! Love them!! (Here’s to hoping everyone stays alive & well in the follow-up next year!)

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship of the Year

Liddi & her brothers from Spinning Starlight. I’m always a sucker for big brother/little sister relationships & I loved the palpable love & respect they all had for one another!

Favorite Book from an Author I’d Read Previously

27220438

Conjuror by John & Carole E. Barrowman

Best Book Based Solely on a Recommendation

8667848-1

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (I refused to read it until someone bought it for me..and now I LOVE it!)

Newest Fictional Crush

Kell from the Shades of Magic series. He’s so human and magical and wonderful. He also has a really cool coat (like most amazing heroes). Also, Matthew Clairmont from All Souls. I’m all about his OTP with Diana Bishop, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a crush of my own.

Best 2016 Debut

27071490

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Best Worldbuilding

three-dark-crowns

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Most FUN Book to Read & Made Me Smile

furiously-happy

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Book that Made Me Cry

us

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Hidden Gem of the Year

this-above-all

This Above All by Lindsey Roth Culli

Book That Crushed My Soul

26114523

The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

Most Unique Book

illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Book That Angered Me the Most

darkfever

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

It angered me because the main character was SO annoying! (I could maybe still make the series a guilty pleasure read.)

Blogging/Bookish Life

Favorite Book Blog Discovered This Year

I think my favorite is Cait’s over at Paper Fury. It’s just so fun and so utterly her own.

Favorite Review I Wrote

I think my favorite review I wrote is the one about Do Not Say We Have Nothing (found here) or possibly the one I wrote about Homegoing (found here).

Best Non-Review Post on Blog

I didn’t really have a lot of non-review posts on the blog. Anything that wasn’t a review was a weekly meme or a tag. Out of these, my favorites were Top Ten Tuesday: Book Club Picks for People Who Like Unique Books and Ben & Jerry’s Book Tag.

Best Bookish Event I Participated In

I participated in so many great readathons, like Dewey’s and Bout of Books, but I think my favorite event was the Southern Festival of Books here in Nashville. I went to some awesome panels and got to meet V. E./Victoria Schwab, Lauren Oliver, Kendare Blake, and Yaa Gyasi and get some books signed. Can’t wait for next year!

Best Moment of Bookish/Blogging Life

I think starting my blog was a pretty good moment. But I’m also super excited that I’ve hit 99 followers this week!

Most Challenging Thing about Blogging/Reading

TIME. There’s just never enough of it. One of my blogging resolutions this year is to find specific times to write & schedule posts!

Most Popular Post This Year

My most popular post this year was The Sunshine Blogger Award, with 58 views.

Post I Wished Got Some More Love

My review of the oddity that is the audiobook version of Nimona. I just really loved it and wished more people had read the review! It can be found here.

Best Bookish Discovery

I think my best bookish discovery this year was BookOutlet.com. Knowledge of it is dangerous (for my wallet).

Reading Challenges/Goals Completed

I finished the Read Harder challenge (wrap up coming soon) and far exceeded my original Goodreads goal of 50 books. I also participated in both 2016 rounds of Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon, a few rounds of Bout of Books (starting a new one tomorrow!), the 24 in 48 readathon, and 12 Days of Diversity Retellings Read-a-thon. SO MUCH FUN.

Looking Ahead

My Number One Priority Book in 2017 (That I Didn’t Get to This Year)

ember-in-ashes

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Non-Debut Book I’m Anticipating in 2017

conjuring-of-light

A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab

Is anyone surprised by this?

Most Anticipated 2017 Debut

gilded-cage

Gilded Cage by Vic James

Series Ending I’m Most Anticipating in 2017

conjuring-of-light

A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab

I’m so very afraid. I want everyone to make it out alive. I’m fairly certain that’s not happening.

One Blog Goal I Hope to Accomplish in 2017

Consistency & discussion posts. I really want to have more posts beyond weekly events and reviews. I also want to be very consistent about posting and make a schedule.

A 2017 Release I’ve Already Read & Recommend

bone-witch

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Oh man. Loved this one. Way more than I thought I would. And that cover.

What were your favorite reads of 2016? What are you looking forward to in 2017?? Can’t wait to hear about it in the comments!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “End Of Year Book Survey 2016!

  1. Catching up on posts from the holiday weekend… enjoyed reading about your year in books! I keep seeing Illuminae (and its sequel) popping up everywhere, and I think I’m going to have to try it! So glad to see Homegoing and Purple Hibiscus on your list. And I LOVED Nimona (read it late 2015.) 147 books – that’s amazing! How do you do it? (I wonder this of everyone who reads 100+ books a year.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Illuminae was wonderful! Its sequel was good, too, but I did love Illuminae a little more. Honestly, I’m not sure how I read so many books!! I attribute it to more audiobooks than ever before, a lot of comics/graphic novels (quick reads), and doing a LOT of readathons. I’m aiming a little higher this year, too (my Goodreads goal is 160). We shall see how it pans out!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great post! It must have taken you *forever* to write. I am super impressed. I want to comment on EVERYTHING. 🙂

    I *adore* Nimona. I read the physical book, and I loved the art. Like you, I am also surprised there is an audiobook version. But, those comments will go on that post. I also love audiobooks in general and support you pushing As You Wish on people. It’s so much fun!

    ❤ The Shades of Magic series! I cannot WAIT for the final release! I also have had the honor of reading Gilded Cage. It took me a while to get into it, but once Vic James found her stride it was obvious, and I was hooked. I look forward to the next book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

