gemina

This sequel to Illuminae was good, but I would venture to say that I didn’t enjoy it as much as the original, and I’ll try to articulate why in this review. The premise of Gemina is similar to Illuminae. This time, instead of following Kady and Ezra, we follow Hannah and Nik, who are on the Heimdall space station. On the space station, they have yet to learn of the Kerenza invasion, but they’re about to have troubles of their own. Hannah is the station commander’s daughter: pampered, seemingly innocent, yet occasionally dabbling in drugs. Nik is a drug dealer who works for his notorious family. Together, they have to save their station from an invasion of a strike team from BeiTech.  Complete with wormhole problems, as well as creepy alien creatures, Gemina is an action-packed and interesting continuation to Illuminae.

First, let me talk about why I didn’t quite LOVE this book as much as Illuminae. It was good, but I think Illuminae had a lot of novelty in format working for it, and that novelty has kind of worn off here. The addition of illustrations was a good move (and they’re very well done by Marie Lu), but otherwise the format is very similar to Illuminae, and a little more novelty would’ve gone a long way for me. The other part I didn’t love was the inevitable love story. It made Gemina feel more like a copy of Illuminae to me, and was almost formulaic. There were a lot of similarities to Kady and Ezra’s relationship. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the love story, I just wanted it to be more unique than it felt to me.

All of that being said, I still read Gemina in one sitting. It was a good book. It had action and romance. I once again loved the format of text messages and video transcripts. Hannah was a bit annoying at first, but she grew on me…and I pretty much loved Nic from the get-go. The time travel aspect added here was also a lot of fun. It’s still amazing to me how well you can get to know characters only from text messages and transcripts and other things that don’t actually get into their heads. This book was impeccably well-crafted and I highly recommend it if you enjoyed Illuminae, just know that the there are a lot of similarities. I’m still looking forward to seeing how it all wraps up!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More Information: Amazon, Goodreads, Amie Kaufman’s Website, Jay Kristoff’s Website

What did you think of Gemina? Let me know below!

6 thoughts on “Review: Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (illustrations by Marie Lu)

  1. The novelty of a first book in a series is such a huge draw for me. More often than not, I get what I want from a series after just the first book and I don’t feel that compelled to read on, so I totally get what you mean. I have yet to read Illuminae but am looking forward to doing so soon.

    Like

  2. I am completely in love with this series. For me, the novelty didn’t wear off. I loved the additions in the illustrations and the personnel dossier. I wasn’t as hooked, though. I think this is mostly in part to there being more narrative through the video transcripts, and the smaller part of AIDAN. But I think it’s a more well-crafted book overall. I am so excited to see where this goes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

