Audiobook Review: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

nimona

When I read Nimona, I really enjoyed it. It’s a funny, smart, dark comic about Nimona, the new sidekick for a kingdom’s main villain (but is he really the villain?). That being said, I wasn’t sure about the audiobook version. It seemed odd to me that an audiobook version of a graphic novel was being released. However, the words “full cast” drew me in and I got it from the library through Overdrive.

At first, as I was listening, I missed the art and being able to see the pictures. That being said, it got better for me as it went. However, I would recommend reading the graphic novel BEFORE the audiobook. That way, you can fully appreciate the art and the story together before listening (it really helps to have an idea of what everything looks like). There is also a narrator, who states necessary visual information, which definitely helped the no image problem. The image part was really the only big drawback I had with the audiobook.

Now that I’ve gotten my one criticism out of the way, let’s talk about all of the wonderful parts of this audiobook. First of all, Nimona’s voice is SPOT ON! It’s so perfect for who she is as a character and really ties into her image in the original novel. There were also great music and sound effects throughout, and the humor is still very much intact. I found myself frequently laughing out loud in my car while listening. Also, it’s a really quick listen, coming in around two hours.

Overall, the audio version of Nimona captures the fun-loving, quirky, somewhat dark nature of the original graphic novel. As I said before, however, I highly recommend reading the graphic novel either before, or along with, the audio. So wonderful!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon, Author Website, Author Twitter

Have you read Nimona? Would you try it out on audiobook? Let me know below!

5 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

  1. I adored the Nimona graphic novel! Noelle Stevenson is probably my spirit animal. Like you, I was hesitant about an audiobook for this. However, unlike you I just ignored it. Apparently, I shouldn’t have!

    This sounds fascinating. I love the idea of music and sound effects enhancing the story. And a narrator? This is more or less a completely different book now. Do you think it’s significantly different?

    I must check this out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truthfully, I had a several month gap between the audiobook and the novel, so I remembered the basic story, but not all the details. The story was the same, though I was glad that I already had the visuals to pair with it, if that makes sense. It’s definitely a great addition to the novel, but doesn’t replace it. I hope if you listen you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am currently listening to The Sleeper and The Spindle, which is a Neil Gaiman illustrated novel. I feel like there is probably a very similar feel. Full cast, music, additional narration and sound effects.
        This is just making me more excited for Nimona as an audiobook. 😄

        Like

Leave a Reply

