Review: The Fairy’s Assistant by Sasha L. Miller

fairys-assistant

This charming little book was a welcome surprise. Following Hayden, a late twenties-ish hardworking assistant to a fairy named Lily, it’s a sweet telling of a Cinderella-like story with a bit of LGBT romance thrown in on the side. In a kingdom where magic is illegal, Hayden journeys with Lily, who picks out people to help and needs Hayden’s help in making their dreams come true. While helping a young woman, Renee, the most famous mage hunter in the kingdom, Lord Sidney Ackerman, take notices of Hayden, leading him to try and avoid getting thrown in jail while he helps Renee, the stand-in for Cinderella in the story.

I thought this story was very sweet. Hayden is a very kind and gentle character, who is really relatable, even given the magical nature of the story. Renee is likewise a sweet young woman, who you also sense has a strength about her as she deals with her stepmother and step-siblings. Sidney was probably my favorite character here, with unexpected personality popping up. I also found the romance in the book endearing, and though predictable, I found the story hard to put down for the last half.

That being said, there were some things that didn’t work for me in this book. I felt like the characters were a little too simplistic, as was the story. While fairytale stories generally are predictable, it would have been nice to have some more unpredictability here. I’m also a big sucker for character development, and I didn’t find enough for me. Hayden’s voice is well-done, but the other characters fell a little flat for me in general, especially Sidney, who I would’ve liked to get to know more in-depth.

Despite these small issues, I really did enjoy this book for what it was: a nice, lighthearted read. I don’t really read a lot of light-hearted fluffy type books, but this book was a breath of fun and fresh air for me. I also loved that the non-straight romance was handled so naturally and beautifully. The issues faced by the characters because of the romance were never that it was unacceptable, just whether it fit into their lives. If you’re looking for a charming, magical, fun read, you should check this book out when it releases this week on November 2.

Note: I received this book from Netgalley and Less than Three Press in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Rating: 3 stars

More Information: Less than Three Press, Author Website

Have you read The Fairy’s Assistant? What’s your favorite romantic fairy tale retelling? Let me know below!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Fairy’s Assistant by Sasha L. Miller

Leave a Reply

