drop-of-night

A Drop of Night is creepy and bizarre, but doesn’t come with the payoff you really want. A group of teenagers are recruited to help unearth an archeological find of the century: an underground palace built in 1780s France to save a family during the Revolution. However, when they arrive, not everything is as it seems, and they find themselves fighting for their lives.

I really wanted to like this book a lot more than I did. The premise was exciting and interesting, but I feel like it wasn’t quite thought out to a satisfying conclusion. Anouk, the main character, is alternately strong and obnoxious. She’s the definition of teenage angst, and just not very likable for me. I was much more interested in the barely drawn out characters of the other teens, but they weren’t as explored as I would have liked. I also felt like there was much more potential for the setting than was explored. The palace itself was interesting, and the concept of the trap rooms was awesome, but I didn’t really feel immersed like I wanted to. Basically, this book was a little bit of everything, and I wanted it to go deeper.

The book did succeed in creating an air of suspense. Despite it skimming the surface of everything it could have been, I was still engrossed enough to keep turning the pages and keep reading it late into the night. I wanted to know what happened, I just wish the payoff would’ve been bigger. If you like creepy suspense novels, you may like this. It’s not my usual kind of book, and I really go for more character development and more surprising/interesting endings than this, but it was still an interesting read.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon

Have you read A Drop of Night? What did you think? Let me know below!

4 thoughts on “Review: A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

Leave a Reply

