fairy

I was tagged awhile ago by Amber @ Only True Magic to do this tag, and I’m finally getting around to it!! (Thanks for the tag, Amber!) Be sure to check out her blog! She does a tag every Tuesday, as well as reviews and some other weekly events. So…here goes!

1. Rather read only a series or stand-alone books?

Oooo…this one is hard. On the one hand, I tend to read mostly series, which can get exhausting sometimes (I occasionally get really excited when I realize a book is a standalone). However, it does give me more time to spend with beloved characters and stories that can get more complex, so I think I prefer the series. I love how they build, and I’m always sad when they end. The anticipation for new books in series is also equal parts pain and excitement, depending on how long the wait is and makes me more invested in the characters and the story when the next one does come out.

2. Rather read a book whose main character is male or female?

This is an interesting question. Right now, I think most books I read are from female point of views, if they’re from any gendered point of view at all. While I’ll read either or, I think I prefer female POVs.

3. Rather shop only at Barnes & Noble (or other physical bookstore) or Amazon?

Physical bookstore, hands down, all the way. There’s just something about walking in to a bookstore and seeing all the shelves that makes me all warm and tingly. I can spend hours in the bookstore, adding books to my TBR..and sometimes I don’t even walk out with a book, but I’ve still enjoyed my experience. I would hate to give the tactile experience up for shopping exclusively on Amazon.

4. Rather all books become movies or TV shows?

Definitely TV shows. I feel like movies botch books wayyyy to much due to time limitations, and TV shows have so much more time to tell the story accurately and in depth. It gives the characters more space to breathe, and the story room to expand if need be.

5. Rather read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

This one is hard for me. On the one hand, I’ve read 5 books in a week during read-a-thons and I’ve enjoyed the experience. On the other hand, I might grasp information better if I read 5 pages per day. I think I’m going to have to go for 5 books per week, simply because I might actually read everything on my TBR that way!

6. Rather be a professional book reviewer or an author?

I have never been a great fiction writer, except for the occasional inspired fan-fiction story. Thus, as it’s not one of my strengths, I’d rather be a professional book reviewer. I would love having more time to read, and I really enjoy sharing books I love with others.

7. Rather only read the same 20 books over and over or get to read a new book every 6 months?

I think I’d have to go for get to read a new book every 6 months. I could definitely subsist on re-reads in between, but I couldn’t read the same 20 books over and over for the rest of my life. How would I even pick just 20???

8. Rather be a librarian or own a bookstore?

I’ve given a lot of thought to how awesome it would be to own a bookstore lately, so that’s what I’d go with. I’d have to learn a lot about business, but it really sounds amazing. So fun, in fact, that I’ve thought about journeying to this bookstore in Scotland for a week to run it (I heard about it on the Book Riot podcast originally). What a fun vacation! Also, I would really enjoy getting to order the books for my bookstore…and reading a lot. In my obviously copious amounts of free time, that I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have.

9. Rather only read your favorite genre or your favorite author?

I’m going to go with favorite genre. Since my favorite genre is sci-fi/fantasy, I could really do a lot with reading within it, and I wouldn’t get as bored as I would with one author. Of course, in this scenario, I run into the same problem as with question #7…how would I choose a favorite author??

10. Rather only read physical books or eBooks?

Physical books win with me. There’s something about the feel of a book in your hands, about getting to see the pages turn and how far you’ve made it, and the smell of books. I love my Kindle, don’t get me wrong, but I love physical books much more!

So! If you want to do this tag, I tag you!!! Just link back here and let me know in the comments so I can check it out! 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Tag # 2!

Leave a Reply

