168709

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly event hosted by Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. Each participant picks a book to match a theme, then finds the original cover, the covers for your country, and identifies favorite/least favorite covers. For more information, check out the Goodreads page.

This week’s theme is to choose a book that you think should be a classic in a few years. I’ve been writing a lot about my current pick lately, but I just can’t stop writing about it because it was so good and so important. Because of its scope of history that most US schoolchildren don’t learn, and because the characters are compelling and real, I pick Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi this week.

Original Cover/U. S. Cover

27071490

I love this cover. The art and colors are amazing.

Favorite Covers

In addition to the original cover, I also love these:

Polish//Upcoming UK Hardcover

The portrait on the Polish cover is so striking and beautiful. On the UK cover, I love the colors, and patterns, and the way the picture ties both storylines in the book together.

Least Favorite Cover

homegoing-serbian

Serbian

I just find this cover to be pretty meh. It makes the book look less interesting than it is, and it does not make it look like a book I want to pick up. The colors are dark and kind of bleh. I just don’t love it.

What do you think of the covers? What’s your choice for a modern classic today? Let me know below!!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book that Should be a Classic

Leave a Reply

