Ben & Jerry’s Book Tag

cupcake

This is my very first book tag! I was tagged by Lauren @ Comma Hangover (thanks!). Check her blog out. It’s really awesome! Ice cream is my favorite food so I’m very excited to do this book tag!

Vanilla Caramel Fudge

Pick a light, fluffy contemporary read

tales-of-the-city

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

I don’t read a lot of light and fluffy books, but in college, I read Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin, which is pretty light and fun. It sometimes tackles serious issues, but always with a touch of absurdity. It follows the residents of 28 Barbary Lane, a boarding house in San Francisco circa 1976. The whole series is pretty madcap and fantastic.

Mint Chocolate Cookie

A new release that you wish everybody would read

27071490

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

This book is such an important read. Gyasi manages to encapsulate hundreds of years of African and African-American history in the intertwined and intergenerational stories of two half-sisters and their descendants. An amazing, though not always easy, read. Check out my review here.

Cherry Garcia

An ending that was bittersweet

time-travelers-wife

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

This is one of my all time favorite books. I’ve read it multiple times. Every time, I can’t put it down, even though I know what’s coming. The ending is initially pretty tragic, but when you get to the very end, it ends on a sweeter note, which is only made bitter by the earlier tragedy. If you’ve seen the movie, the ending is NOT the same.

Strawberry Shortcake

A book containing your OTP of OTP’s

8667848-1

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

The whole trilogy really follows my OTP, but Matthew Clairmont and Diana Bishop are one of my very favorite literary couples EVER. A vampire and a witch together causes lots of trouble, but also lots of fun. Love this trilogy!

Milk and Cookies

Two authors that would go perfectly together if they collaborated

I would really love to see what V. E. Schwab and Zen Cho could do together given a chance. They have both written my favorite books about magic this year, in the form of Sorcerer to the Crown and the Darker Shade of Magic series. While one is set in Victorian England, and the other is set in a world of multiple Londons, I think both write about magic in a fascinating way, highlighting its dangers and its possibilities. Their characters are also all fleshed out and interesting in their own ways. I think together they could write a pretty perfect fantasy series (since they’ve both managed to do so on their own).

Boston Cream Pie

A book that had you turning the pages late into the night

18692431

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

There have been SO many books I’ve read in one sitting this year, but Everything Everything was so phenomenal. I loved the drawings, the prose, and the story. The characters are amazing, and the story itself makes you think. Highly recommend!

Chocolate Therapy

A book that makes you feel better after a long day of life

spellman-files

The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz

The Spellman Files is the first in a series of zany mystery novels about a family who runs their own private investigation firm. They are not your typical family. Their personalities are oversized, and the book will have you rolling with laughter. I love Lutz’s sense of humor, and her books are the perfect cure for a bad day.

Coffee, Coffee, BUZZBUZZBUZZ!

A book not yet released that you can’t wait to get your hands on

kings-cage

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

There are so many books I can’t wait for, but I haven’t given much love to this one on my blog yet. I have really enjoyed Aveyard’s series thus far, with Red Queen and Glass Sword. The way Glass Sword ended was so heartwrenching and hopeless that I can’t wait to see where it goes in the final installment. I’m hoping for surprise, and not a predictable ending…even though I’m afraid that will ruin the ending I want. Such is the life of a reader!

Here are some folks I’m tagging to continue this delicious tag:

Ola @ Ola Reads Books

Holly @ Nut-Free Nerd

M. @ A Blog of One’s Own

Caitlin @ Words and Other Beasts

Amber @ Only True Magic

If you would also like to do this tag, go ahead!! 🙂 If I tagged you and you’ve already done it, I apologize.

I really want ice cream now! (Of course, I always do! Halo Top is my current favorite!). What do you think of my picks? What would you choose? Let me know in the comments!!

3 thoughts on “Ben & Jerry’s Book Tag

Leave a Reply

