Audiobook Review: Born with Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

born-with-teeth

Full confession: I never really had any intention of ever reading this book. I enjoy Star Trek but I honestly didn’t even know Kate Mulgrew was in it…because I haven’t seen most of it. I recognized her as playing Pete’s mother on Warehouse 13 and that was about it. Essentially, I listened to this audiobook because it was a memoir read by the author herself (which is pretty much the only type of audiobook I listen to) and because it was available on Overdrive right before the 24 in 48 readathon and I knew I needed to have at least 1 audio up my sleeve.

That being said, I really enjoyed the book in the end. It’s the story of Mulgrew’s life up until now: her childhood in a good Irish home, her early career, her rocky first marriage, the winning of her role on Star Trek. It’s also a deeply personal novel about the daughter she gave up for adoption when still a young actress, how much it haunted her, and her quest to one day meet her daughter. That story is the true story here. It’s threaded throughout the rest of the book from the time it happens until the end, likely how Mulgrew felt it was threaded throughout her life.

There are other important things that happen in her life, things I did not expect. There are tragic things that happen in her life and the life of her family. However, while sad at times, there are also amazing moments of life and hope. I cried a few times, I’ll admit it, most likely in my car on my way to work. For a book I never intended to read or listen to, I really fell in love with the story. It wasn’t perfect, though. It took me a lot longer to get through this audiobook than it has with others. In the beginning, I felt like it dragged a bit. I wasn’t sure I was going to finish, quite honestly. I, however, have a really hard time not finishing a book I’ve started, even if it’s terrible. It was a slow start, and dragged at times, but taken in its wholeness, a beautiful and moving memoir. I recommend it, particularly if you are a fan of Mulgrew’s work.

Recommend: Yes, but know you may have to persevere

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

