martian

This book was one of my favorite reads of the past year. I will admit I saw the movie first (which I NEVER do), but I still love the book now. Definitely not a case of which one I encountered first. The book is about an astronaut who is accidentally left behind during a storm on Mars. His crew thought he was dead (for good reason) and he was not. The novel is written from his point of view as journal entries as he attempts to survive on the planet. I’m pretty sure most of you knew the plot summary by this point.

I really loved this book. The tone is irreverent and hilarious. The narrator brings a sense of humor to a really dire situation. The pace of the story was a bit slow at times, but it eventually picked up and was pretty action-oriented, as the movie was. It did a better job than the movie, I thought, of showing the dire consequences associated with his circumstances, including the emotional consequences. It was poignant, and wonderful, and I really loved it. I also read it in one sitting, so there’s that.

Unfortunately, that’s all I really have for this review. It’s been a very long Monday, and it’s been awhile since I’ve read it. I hope if you’re interested in the book, you check it out. The movie is good for after too.

Recommend: Yes!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (perfection)

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon

4 thoughts on “Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

Leave a Reply

