pop

I was so excited when I saw I was nominated for my very first blogger award!! Thank you so much to Holly @ Nut-Free Nerd for nominating me! Her blog is wonderful, and you should definitely check it out! Her series on Gone with the Wind is particularly good.

Rules of the Award

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate eleven new blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog.

Questions!

  1. What’s your biggest source of motivation when it comes to blogging?

    My love of literature. Getting involved in read-a-thons this year, I saw how wonderful the online bookish community was and realized it was a great outlet for me to share my love (or lack of love) for what I read, to discuss all things book-ish, and to find a group of people who value reading as much as I do. It’s been really fun starting this blog up!

  2. What inspires you?

    I think my biggest sources of inspiration in any part of my life are words. When I was in high school, and even still today, the biggest collection I had of anything was quotes. I filled notebooks from quotes I read in books and found online. Now, I find the highlight feature in my Kindle very handy!

  3. Out of all of your posts, which one is your favorite?

    I think my favorite post so far is actually a non-bookish one! *gasp* I recently posted my first Off Book post this past weekend and included my recap/review of DragonCon 2016 (you can see it here). This is my favorite so far because I think, while I’m still finding my footing as a book reviewer, this post does a better job of including my personality. Eventually, I know my book reviews will have more of my own flavor as well.

  4. Do you stick to a blogging schedule or do you prefer to post spontaneously?

    This question makes me laugh because I’m attempting to get myself on a schedule, but so far it hasn’t happened. I absolutely adore the scheduling feature on WordPress and, in my ideal world, I would pre-write at least my weekly events like Top 10 Tuesday and Book Traveling Thursday over the weekend because weeks as a teacher are HECTIC. However, so far, it seems like I mostly just post them when I can get them in, and because I do 3 weekly events back to back, I tend to be posting daily. Outside of weekly posts, I mostly post when I can, but try to post reviews at least 3-5 days a week.

  5. How did you come up with your blog’s name?

    Since I discovered the online book community on Twitter, the blogosphere, Litsy, and Instagram through read-a-thons like Dewey’s, 24 in 48, and Bout of Books, I wanted to include that concept in my blog name. I also love alliteration and since I figured I’d be posting reviews…I went with those two words. After making sure no one else had the name of course.

  6. What’s one of your biggest blogging pet peeves?

    I’m not quite sure, to be honest. I haven’t really had any blogging experiences that have frustrated or irked me, yet. So…none so far. That I can think of. Are there some I should have? (Let me know in the comments what yours are!)

  7. Any blogging advice?

    Make sure you are enjoying writing your blog and not getting so fixated on follower, comment, or viewer counts. So far in my very short blogging career, I’ve enjoyed just writing my blog for myself. It’s wonderful to interact with the people who regularly comment, and even those who stop by once or twice, and I love the interaction aspect, but if I was writing only for numbers, I think I’d be enjoying myself far less. I’ve also not been very analytical about the numbers aspect thus far.

  8. Do you prefer sunny or rainy days?

    It depends on what I have to do that day. If I absolutely have to leave my house and if I have to go to work, I prefer sunny days. If I have the freedom to curl up on my couch or in my bed with a good book, TV show or video game, with a nice blanket and a cup of tea, then I definitely prefer rainy days (so I feel less guilty about not leaving my house).

  9. Favorite pair of sunglasses?

    My favorite pair of sunglasses are the only ones I own: a nice pair of prescription sunglasses from Vera Wang. They’re comfy (were a little pricey) AND they make it possible for me to wear sunglasses without resorting to contact lenses.

  10. What’s your ideal way to spend a sunny summer day?

    My ideal way to spend a sunny summer day is to grab a book, a TON of sunscreen (and possibly a white t-shirt, I’m super fair-skinned), and lay out by the pool, occasionally dipping in to cool off. In this ideal world, I’m alone at the pool, too. There are also mojitos. And ice cream afterward.

  11. Favorite song with “sun” in the title?

    “Here Comes the Sun” by The Beatles. Because it’s The Beatles.

My Questions

I’m going to try & incorporate books, blogging, and summer/sun into my questions. Also, positivity because the sun is so happy.

  1. What’s your favorite summer activity?
  2. What blogging advice do you wish someone would’ve given you when you started out?
  3. What’s your favorite book to read by the pool on a sunny day?
  4. What’s the most positive thing that’s happened to you as a result of starting your blog?
  5. What’s your favorite ice cream?
  6. On a rainy day, what’s your favorite thing to do?
  7. What’s one goal you have for your blog for the future?
  8. What’s your favorite summer-y drink (whether spiked or no)?
  9. What is one positive thing you hope your blog accomplishes?
  10. Why did you start your blog?

Nominations!

I picked some blogs I recently followed, as well as blogs that follow me. I can’t wait to see everyone’s answers!

How would you answer my questions?? Let me know below!!

11 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award!

  1. Thanks for the nomination! Great questions! I do like sunny days when I have to be out and rainy days when I’m cuddle up on the bed too hehehe.. I agree with you that the blog community is really a good motivation to read and to blog. It’s great to find someone with the same interest and post similar topics as you. I like your advice, that’s why I don’t bother with the strict scheduling and write to enjoy so I don’t follow a strict format either. Vera Wang is a great brand.. pricey but good quality huh?

    Like

  2. Thanks for the nomination! I’ll try to get my post up this week! I agree with your blogging advice – I try not to get hung up on number of likes or comments either. I just love the opportunity to share fun and interesting books!

    Like

  3. I love keeping a collection of quotes as well! I used to be really good about writing them all down in a notebook when I was in high school, but now I usually just use Goodreads (because it’s easier) or I end up writing them down on random sticky notes.

    Great answers! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

