Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book About Food

168709

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly event hosted by Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. For more information, check out the Goodreads page. You pick a book from the theme, show the original cover, all covers from your country, and then your favorite and least favorite covers from around the world.

This week’s theme is a book about food, eating, or cooking, which also reminds me I have to read a book about food for the Read Harder challenge (I’ve gotten a little off track there). I haven’t read very many books having to do with food, but one book I have read and enjoyed was Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life by Barbara Kingsolver. It’s a great memoir about a year in which Kingsolver and her family vow to live a whole year with only locally available food, whether from local farmers or food they grow on their own. It also has a ton of information about random food facts, and reads a little like a mix between a nonfiction book and a memoir. I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it.

Original Cover & US Cover

original

As far as I can tell, this is the only cover used in the US (at least the only one listed on Goodreads). I really like the colors and image.

Favorite Covers

Portuguese//UK Hardcover

I really like the Portuguese color’s use of the vegetables as letters, and the colorful cover. For the UK, I was a little iffy on the font at first, but I really like the cover. Something about it just speaks to me.

Least Favorite Covers

UK Paperback//French

The UK paperback is just kind of blah. The photo seems more like a stock photo than a unique cover. The French cover looks super dated, despite the year the book came out. Also, I don’t love the title change to A Garden in the Appalachians, it’s logical, but less poetic.

What food book did you share today?? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book About Food

Leave a Reply

