Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Picture Books

 

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish, in which each participating blogger creates a Top 10 list around a common topic. This week’s topic was Back to School, so we could pick anything having to do with that. So, I picked to discuss my Top 10 Picture Books. I am a kindergarten and first grade teacher, after all. This will include some new favorites, and some old. Enjoy!

1. Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein

Interrupting Chicken

This adorable book is about a little chicken who wants a bedtime story but can’t interrupting her father long enough to listen to the story. I love reading it with my students. They yell out when she starts interrupting, and it’s a great segue into a discussion about talking out during class. Very fun illustrations & great dialogue!

2. The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg

Polar Express

One of my all-time favorites, I read it with my students every holiday season, and then we watch the movie and drink hot chocolate. It’s such a fun story and brings me all the childlike joy of the holiday season.

3. The Book with No Pictures by B. J. Novak

Book with No Pictures

While technically not a picture book, as there are no pictures, this book is still great fun. It includes all kinds of zany noises and random sentences that the reader MUST read out loud. A very fun read-aloud!

4. We the Kids by David Catrow

We the Kids

This is a great book for introducing the Constitution to small children. It’s the words of the Preamble, which makes for great vocabulary, with really beautiful and fun illustrations. I use it to discuss laws vs. rules and then we write our own class Constitution.

5. Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes

Chrysanthemum

A really good book for the first few weeks of school, this story is about a little tiny mouse named Chrysanthemum who gets mocked at school for her name. The end of the story is really wonderful and my students love the repetitiveness of some parts of the book. It’s precious.

6. The Dot by Peter H. Reynolds

825377

This is one of my favorites for teaching my students to discover their own strengths & creativity. The story of a girl who thinks she can’t draw until her art teacher frames a dot she drew, the story is a great way to instill a growth mindset.

7. The Day the Crayons Quit & The Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers

Really fun stories about teamwork and helpfulness. A boy has to convince some crayons to come back in the first, and then in the second, he rescues other crayons.

8. Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg

Jumanji

Another Chris Van Allsburg book (he was one of my favorite authors growing up), Jumanji is such a wonderful story. The movie is pretty great, too!

9. Alphabet Mystery by Audrey Wood & Bruce Wood

Alphabet Mystery

One of my favorite alphabet stories, this is the story of alphabet letters that go on an adventure to solve a mystery in a monster’s castle. Great fun!

10. Any book by Eric Carle

Eric Carle’s books are so useful for enjoyment, as well as teaching science and math concepts. The art is so fun, made out of tissue paper collages. These are just a selection of my very favorites!

What theme did you use for your Top Ten Tuesday Back to School freebie? Have any favorite picture books? Let me know in the comments!

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Picture Books

  1. Ahh I recognise so many of these!! I babysit my niece/nephew who are both preschoolers and HUGE lovers of books. And they adore Eric Carle and the Caryons books! I remember Chrysanthemum from my own childhood actually.😂 So many epic memories in this post! And Interrupting Chicken! I’m pretty sure I’ve read them that one and it was so fun.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post idea! Just seeing the covers of some of these makes me smile because I remember reading them with my son when he was younger. The Very Hungry Caterpillar and The Polar Express were favorites of his.

    Like

Leave a Reply

