30408280

Labyrinth Lost is a darkly enchanting young adult novel. The protagonist is Alex, a teenaged bruja who wants nothing to do with her magic. Despite the fact that she’s very powerful, and everyone in her life thinks she should feel blessed, Alex just feels lost, much like any teenager. She doesn’t want her birthright, as magic has never done her any favors. Her desire takes her on a journey to Los Lagos, a much darker and deadlier version of Wonderland.

On her journey, we get to know Alex, and her complicated relationships to those around her. I love that the protagonist of a paranormal young adult novel is a young woman of color, who is also bisexual. I love how that second part is presented very naturally and matter of factly.  Her relationships with her sisters and her mother are realistic, as is her desire to chart her own path in life, rather than follow her magical destiny. All of these things were what kept me reading. The book was also action-packed, and that made it hard to put down.

As this review makes apparent, I liked this book, but at the end, I still felt like something was missing. Not a big something, and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. However, assuming that this is the first book in a series, I think it may just be that it hints at a much larger world with bigger problems than those Alex faces in this initial story. I so badly want to get to that world, and the hints provided here are tantalizing. So, the something missing is really just my anticipation of how Alex’s world will develop in future installments of the series. Anticipation for more after finishing a book is not a bad thing.

Overall, this book provides sorely needed diversity, a believable coming of age story, and an action-packed magical adventure. I recommend to anyone who likes paranormal/supernatural young adult, and anyone else who desires to see more diverse characters in literature. If you’re interested in reading it, the book will release next week on September 6.

Recommend: Yes!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More Information: Amazon, Goodreads

Is this a title you’re looking forward to? Let me know in the comments!

Note: I received this book as an e-galley courtesy of Netgalley & Sourcebooks FIRE in exchange for a fair and honest review. 

3 thoughts on “Review: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

  1. Wow.. This book seems really interesting… I got to know about so many his books since I joined the community of word press…But my kindle broke so I have to wait till I get a new one 😦

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I keep getting more and more excited about the story and the wonderful representation of diverse characters. I hope the world grows and builds like you mention in sequels. I’m going to go out and get it now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

