168709

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly event hosted by Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. For more information, check out the Goodreads page.

This week’s theme was to pick a book that makes you want to travel, then publish the original cover, your country’s covers, and your favorite/least favorite covers. The first book I thought of was In a Sunburned Country by Bill Bryson. It’s a wonderful travel book. Bryson is hilarious and makes reading all about Australia really engaging and fun. It really made me want to go to Australia.

Original Edition (as far as I can tell)

Original Hardcover

U. S. Editions (as far as I can tell)

My Favorite Covers

Canadian//Dutch//Italian//U.S.

I love animals, hence I love many of the covers with cute animals on them. The Canadian one has a great font & colors, as well as the adorable tiny kangaroo. I enjoyed the inclusion of a koala on the Dutch cover, and I love the look on the kangaroo’s face on the Italian edition. Finally, the US edition is my absolute favorite, mostly because it was the cover on the edition I read.

My Least Favorite Covers

French//Polish//US

I just don’t really get the relevance of the French cover. It’s a woman in a swim costume with a seal blow-up. Does that scream Australia to anyone? Really? The Polish one is just kinda weird in its coloring and looks vaguely ominous. Finally, I don’t get the whole putting the continent of Australia on an ice cream cone. Just odd choice.

What did you choose for your Book Traveling Thursday? Let me know in the comments & I’ll check it out!!

Images courtesy of Goodreads.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A Book that Makes Me Think About Traveling

Leave a Reply

