specials

Image created with Canva.

Last week was the Bookish Olympics on Litsy, sponsored by The Spinecrackers Book Club. The challenge was to read enough to earn either a bronze, silver, or gold medal. The challenge defined a novel as 220 pages. To earn bronze, you had to read 7 graphic novels/short stories, with at least 2 being novels. To earn silver, you had to read 7 novels/graphic novels/short stories, with at least 4 being novels. To earn gold, you had to read 7 novels.

So, how did I do, you may ask? I think I got bronze. I was aiming for silver, but misjudged my availability to read this past week. Here’s what I read:

Fables Volume 7: Arabian Nights [and Days]  by Bill Willingham (counted as a short story since it wasn’t quite long enough to qualify as a graphic novel)

21327

The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel (novel #1)

26114523

Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe (novel #2)

26192644

Short Stories: “The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber”, “The Capital of the World”, “The Snows of Kilimanjaro”, “Old Man at the Bridge” by Ernest Hemingway (4 short stories)

18683249

Regardless of whether I actually “medaled”, I did enjoy the challenge that the Bookish Olympics presented. I just wish it would’ve been during a week that was easier for me to make time to read. I really enjoyed both novels I read, and those reviews are coming this week. Bout of Books starts tomorrow & I’m super excited to do that this week! It’s a little lower key. I have a post about that coming up next!

Leave a Reply

