168709

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly event hosted by Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. For more information, check out the Goodreads page.

This week, the theme was your favorite nonfiction book. For the event, I will share that book, its original cover, all of the US edition covers I could find, and then showcase my favorite and least favorite covers from all over the world. For this week, I chose A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn. I read this book the year after I graduated from college. It’s a history of the United States, but instead of towing the party line when it comes to how things happened, it looks at the history of the United States through the eyes of the underprivileged, including women, workers, African Americans, Native Americans, the poor, and immigrants. It’s an amazing nonfiction read, and I highly recommend it to everyone. It’s fascinating, but troubling…and horrifying when you think about historical patterns repeat if we don’t pay attention. Anyway…on to the covers…

Original Edition

Original 1980 hardcover

 

U. S. Editions

It was originally published in 1980, so there are a lot of US editions. The black & white photography covers are sometimes separated into volumes. The book is pretty hefty, usually around 600-700 pages.

 

Favorite Covers

Spanish//Persian//Norwegian//US Editions

I love the black and white photography of the Statue of Liberty and how it makes it almost seem shadow like. Also, since the Statue is thought of as a beacon to immigrants, it fits with some of the topics covered in the book. In the Persian cover, I like the flag and how it seems to be woven or somehow created by hand. I like the simplicity and colors used in the Norwegian cover. I’m drawn to it. The others I love because I’m a huge fan of black and white photography in general and the pictures chosen are striking and fitting with the topics covered in the book.

Least Favorite Covers

German//Arabic

I don’t really get the German one. It’s not a bad picture of what appears to be a piece of wood or a tree stump. I’m just not sure why that was the image chosen. I also don’t love the colors on the Arabic cover.

Images courtesy of Goodreads.

Have you ever read A People’s History of the United States? Which covers do you like? What did you pick for Book Traveling Thursday this week? Let me know below!

7 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Nonfiction

  1. I really love the last two US covers. I think that they show better the perspective of the book than any of the others. The least favorites… what were they thinking? It’s lazy cover design!

    Like

Leave a Reply

