22934446

After discovering my love of listening to memoirs via audiobooks narrated by the authors themselves, I picked up this gem from the library. I love listening to people tell their own stories. I have always loved Alan Cumming as an actor, whether in Josie and the Pussycats, the Tin Man miniseries, X-Men, or any other of his many and varied works. This memoir, though, was completely unexpected.

I admire Cumming for reasons beyond his acting. He’s an actor, but he’s also a very unique individual who never seems to have trouble expressing himself however and whenever he wants to. He’s very much himself. What I didn’t realize is how difficult it was for him to get there. This memoir is not just a fluffy memoir of a Hollywood personality. It’s a story of domestic violence, mental illness, family, fear, healing, and much more. While there are sad parts that made me cry, there were other parts that made me laugh. The memoir charts two journeys, that of Cumming to accept and move on from his troubled childhood, and another where he sets out to discover the truth about long-lost relatives. The stories parallel each other, and both come out with a sense of uplifting healing. Cumming’s experiences are a part of him always, you get the sense, but they don’t have to define him. He gets to define himself. After listening, I have even more respect for him as a person, especially his ability to so movingly share such large parts of his life and include such pivotal moments. If you’ve ever been an Alan Cumming fan, or even if you haven’t, I highly recommend this book.

P. S. I also learned about the Eurovision Song contest. This is something I will be checking out. The Internet has to have somewhere I can see it.

Recommend: Yes. For everyone. Especially the audiobook.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More Information: Amazon, Goodreads

Image courtesy of Goodreads.

Have you read it or listened? Thoughts? Let me know below!

 

9 thoughts on “Review: Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming

  1. I’m so glad the book was enjoyable for you. I have it on my TBR because Alan Cumming has always seem like a very nice (and talented!) guy, so I was curious to hear more about him.
    Also, if you don’t know anything about the Eurovision song contest prepare yourself for some very cool and strange musical performances. It’s a hilarious event, driven also by the politics of Europe, and with a lot of fun and amazing songs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s really cool listening to authors read their own stories. I listen to the Moth Podcast and I love listening to those shorter stories being told by own voices. I never thought I would dive into audiobooks, but your post really makes me think I will try it at some point! Thank you for your thoughts in this post 🙂

    Like

  3. I usually try to avoid memoirs at all cost (not my cup of tea, unfortunately) but this review makes me want to pick this one up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

