Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do After Reading Them

toptentuesday2

Time for my second Top 10 Tuesday Post, sponsored by the wonderful bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top 10 Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do  or Learn About After Reading Them and I was a little stuck, so you’ll notice books I’ve mentioned before (even some from last week’s Top Ten). You’ll find many things on this list, from activities to a lot of travel destinations. Enjoy!

1. Visit Amsterdam: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

11870085

I loved this book for many reasons, but one of my favorite parts of the book is when Hazel & Gus visit Amsterdam to meet her favorite author. The descriptions of the city and the desire to visit the Anne Frank Museum made me really want to go, too!

 2. Go snorkeling: Me Before You by Jojo MoyesEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

1869243115507958

I read both of these books during 24 in 48 over the weekend. In both books, the main characters go snorkeling during pivotal moments for them, moments where they are breaking away from how their lives have been before and beginning new journeys, gaining new confidence, and deepening relationships. The freedom they both seem to find in the ocean water, and the descriptions of beautiful fish, made me want to join them both. Maybe someday!

3. Learn more about the life of Ernest Hemingway: The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

8683812

Ernest Hemingway is one of my all time favorite authors. I love The Sun Also Rises so much. This novel was a fictional account of his first marriage to Hadley Richardson and I liked the subject matter of the novel, even though I didn’t love the writing style. After reading, I turned to the Internet and did a lot of research on Hemingway’s life, his children, and his other wives. Good read if you’re a Hemingway fan.

4. See Cirque du Soleil: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

9361589

The Night Circus is a tale about love and a magical circus and I remember the book very fondly, and it did make also make an appearance on last week’s Top Ten Tuesday. After reading about the magical circus in the book, it made me convinced I really needed to see a circus that was as close to magic as I could get. This past spring, I visited Las Vegas with friends and was able to see Cirque du Soleil’s production Mystere at Treasure Island. It was quite magical!

5. Visit the Lake District in England: Classic English Novels

So, try as I might, I couldn’t remember which novels that I’ve read specifically made me desire to go to the Lake District in England, but when I visited a friend who attended college there, I insisted we go. It was beautiful and chilly the day we went. I almost felt like I’d stepped back in time…and I also got nearly attacked by a goose.

6. Go on a long backpacking trip: Wild by Cheryl Strayed

12262741

This great memoir about hiking the Pacific Crest Trail, at times uplifting, at times depressing, still made me yearn to get outdoors. I have been backpacking exactly one time in my 31 years, and it was only for about 3 days. While I’m not sure I have the courage to do what Cheryl Strayed did, I do know it made me yearn to be out in nature for a little longer than an afternoon hike.

7. Visit Scottish Isles: Hollow Earth trilogy

135475271610228824885650

The island that the characters escape to in Scotland sounds majestic and beautiful. I could picture it in my mind while reading and just truly want to visit someday (I can work it into my dream trip of visiting Ireland!).

8. Visit Oxford and the Bodleian Library: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

8667848 (1)

At the very beginning of the trilogy, Diana Bishop is a researcher at Oxford University for the summer. The Bodleian is where she uncovers a magical book, meets Matthew Clairmont, and the whole wonderful story begins. The descriptions of the buildings, of All Souls, and, of course, the library all had me planning my next trip to England.

8. Give Skyrim another a try: Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

13496

I started reading A Game of Thrones long after I had given up on liking the video game Skyrim. However, I’ve since noticed some similarities between the game and the books in A Song of Ice and Fire and am curious if I may give it another shot. I’ve heard it’s being remastered, so it’s always a possibility.

9. Understand all the references to the books in The Witcher games: The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

1128434.jpg

So, this item on the list is a little cyclical, but bear with me. I played The Witcher 2 on Xbox 360 and knew that it was based on fantasy novels but wasn’t particularly interested in reading them. Then, The Witcher 3 was announced and it was announced that characters who were important in the book would be playing large parts in the game, such as Ciri & Yennefer (who I was beginning to be curious about anyway). I decided to give the books that were translated into English a try. After reading this first collection of short stories, I was hooked, and once I realized that the games heavily referenced the books, I consumed them as quickly as possible. I still have some knowledge gaps, however, as not all of the novels are translated quite yet.

10. Learn about Nigerian history: Americanah and Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

12638115796700

I know these were also included on last week’s Top 10 Tuesday, but they fit this list so perfectly. I promise I’ve read more than like 10 books! The books just so achingly portray Nigeria at different points in its history, and I very much want to learn more about its history in general. If you have any resources or good nonfiction books, let me know!

All images courtesy of Goodreads.com.

What about you? What would you put on your list? Let me know in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do After Reading Them

      1. I checked, and I read “Mrs. Hemingway” and then the story inspired me to look out for Fitzgeralds and I read “Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald”

        Like

  1. This is such an interesting list! I couldn’t quite think of so many things books have made me want to learn or do, though I’m sure there are much more than those I listed.
    I also want to learn more about Nigeria. I’ve read a few books set there and the history and culture of the country always calls to me! The novel Half of a Yellow Sun (also by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) deals with the Biafran War, which I didn’t know anything about before. If you haven’t already, give it a try! It’s beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

