Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

15783514

Last week, I highlighted this book for First Line Fridays because it was on my TBR for 24 in 48. It was one of the very first books to read last weekend and I’m glad I finally got around to it. A dark, yet whimsical, fairy tale for adults, The Ocean at the End of the Lane tells a fairy story remembered through the eyes of a child. In the course of this tale, some things that could happen in very real life occur, but are explained by magic.

The narrator is an older man reminiscing about things that occurred in his childhood, but the voice of his flashback still maintains a childlike quality. Like most Neil Gaiman novels, there’s always much more than initially meets the eye. In addition to all of these qualities, I really loved that there were many quotes I adored, about adults, childhood, and books. Here are some of my favorites (no spoilers):

“I thought about adults. I wondered if that was true: if they were all really children wrapped in adult bodies, like children’s books hidden in the middle of dull, long adult books, the kind with no pictures or conversation.”

“I liked that. Books were safer than other people anyway.”

“I’m going to tell you something important. Grown-ups don’t look like grown-ups on the inside either. Outside, they’re big and thoughtless and they always know what they’re doing. Inside, they look just as they always have. Like they did when they were your age. The truth is, there aren’t any grown-ups.”

All in all, a quick read with wonderful language and a dark little fairy story.

Recommend: Yes, perfect for Neil Gaiman fans, someone looking for a quick fantasy read

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More information: Goodreads, Amazon

Image courtesy of Goodreads.

Have you read this? What’s your favorite Neil Gaiman novel? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

