Review: Pride & Prejudice, the Graphic Novel

6482046

I love Jane Austen. I love Jane Austen novels, Pride and Prejudice being one of my all time favorites of hers. I love how independent and headstrong Elizabeth is, how rude Darcy can be and how he comes around. It’s a beautiful, funny love story that I have read multiple times. One day, I was browsing in my local library’s comics/graphic novel section for YA readers and I came across this gem from Marvel. Being a huge fan of the original, I just couldn’t pass it up.

The graphic novel is adapted by Nancy Butler & Hugo Petrus. It’s a lovely little adaptation. The art is decent, though occasionally I only could tell which character was speaking due to my prior knowledge of the book. It’s very faithful to the original, and the comic format allows the story to be presented in a much quicker fashion than the novel. Most of the language also seems to come directly from the novel, or at least be time appropriate. Essentially, if you’re looking to revisit Pride and Prejudice (or get a younger person interested in it) without rereading the entire novel, this is a great version to pick up. I was also able to read it in one sitting, which is a delightful way to spend an afternoon.

Recommend: Yes, especially if you’re a Jane Austen or Pride & Prejudice fan.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More Information: Goodreads, Amazon

Image courtesy of Goodreads.

Are you an Austenite? Have you read any comics adaptations of her work or any other classics (Marvel has a whole line!)? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Pride & Prejudice, the Graphic Novel

Leave a Reply

