24 in 48: Wrap Up Post

So, turns out, it’s really hard to be active on one’s blog while frantically attempting to complete 24 hours of reading within 48 hours, and still possibly sleep. So, while I posted to here once or twice, it wasn’t as much as I would’ve liked.

A few minutes ago, I officially hit 24 hours read!! It felt amazing, and still kind of does. My eyes are very tired, but I really enjoyed getting so much reading done.

IMG_1318The photo shows all of the books (audiobooks excluded) that I was able to finish during 24 in 48. My Kindle is there because I finished a book I had started prior to the ‘thon on it during the very beginning.

So, here is what I was able to read during 24 in 48 (and reviews you can look forward to in the next week or 2):

  • Finished Conjuror  by John Barrowman & Carole Barrowman (44% read during 24 in 48, approximately 140 pages)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (178 pages)
  • Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard (142 pages)
  • Saga Vol. 4 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (152 pages)
  • Pride & Prejudice (graphic novel version) adapted by Nancy Butler & Hugo Petrus (114 pages)
  • Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon (306 pages)
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer (550 pages)
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer (220 pages)
  • Me Before Yoby Jojo Moyes (409 pages)

In between bouts of reading, I also listened to parts of 2 audiobooks:

  • Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari (22 % completed)
  • Born with Teeth by Kate Mulgrew (50% completed

Grand totals:

  • 1 book completed (started prior), 8 books started & completed, 2 audiobooks still in progress
  • Total pages: 2,211
  • 1 giveaway won at Litsy (one of the best apps for readers, ever!)

What a wonderful weekend for readers! What I loved about 24 in 48 is that it had a social media presence, but the social media aspect wasn’t overwhelming to keep up with. It felt very streamlined. There were some really fun giveaways and contests courtesy of a sponsorship by Litsy. The blog had good posts, and there was an active Twitter presence. Everyone was super supportive of each other, and I actually was able to accomplish the goal of 24 hours in 48 spent reading! (I failed Dewey’s in the spring with only a few hours left). The flexibility in this read-a-thon was key, but it was still challenging to get that amount of hours in, especially with family in town visiting. I’m so glad I participated, and if you are looking for a great read-a-thon, keep your eyes on the 24 in 48 Twitter for updates! The next 24 in 48 Read-a-thon will be January 21-22, 2017!

Did you participate? What did you read? How many hours did you get in? What did you love/hate about it? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “24 in 48: Wrap Up Post

  1. Had a great time! I made it to 24 hours!! I read 5 books, part of 5 other books. I read 1275 pages. I loved everything. I’m on Litsy, but felt sorry for those that can’t get it because they don’t have iOS devices. Seemed like almost all the “fun stuff” was on Litsy. Hopefully the android app will be out in time for the next one. (I’m @suzze on Litsy)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, too! I agree about Litsy–it would be great if they had a website in addition to the app so everyone could join! I looked for you on Litsy and we are already luckily following each other (I’m @simplerevelry on there)! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

