I don’t want to go all meme-crazy when I’m just starting out on my blog, but I really liked the idea of Top 10 Tuesdays, so I went digging and found another really cool weekly meme: Book Traveling Thursdays, sponsored by The Girl Who Read Too Much & Danielle’s Book Blog. For this meme, each week has a theme, you pick a book to match the theme, and then find the original cover, the cover from your country, covers of multiple editions/countries, and include all the covers from your country, favorite and least favorite covers in your post.

This week, I picked 2 books. The theme is books where music heavily figures into the story, and I have a music book I LOVE that only had 2 covers no matter how hard I tried…so I also picked a second music book that had more covers.

Book # 1: How the Mistakes Were Made by Tyler McMahon

I absolutely LOVE this book. It’s a sad tale of a band that rises then fizzles, and the love story and relationships that suffer as a result, particularly how Laura goes from beloved and famous to reviled and hated. It’s hard to fully describe how much I loved this book when I got it as an ARC years ago. Totally worth checking out if you love punk rock music at all.

Covers:

 

As far as I can tell, these are the only 2 covers available, and I’m not even sure which edition the first one came from. As for my preference, I prefer the first cover, just because it fully brings in the other 2 main characters, who are important to Laura’s story and the colors are more interesting.

Book #2: A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

I chose this book because it centers on a range of characters involved in the music industry and their relationships with one another. Another great music book, with many more covers to choose from.

Original Cover

7331435

Additional US Covers

9549746._UY200_

My Favorites

Portuguese/Dutch/Portuguese

My Least Favorites

Bulgarian/Czech/French

(Note: The French one would be okay, except for the pink. Dislike the pastel pink.)

What do you think? Do you have a favorite? Have you read this book? Feel free to respond in the comments!

 All images courtesy of Goodreads.com.

 

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Music

  1. Both covers of the first book are cool!
    And I really love the blue Portuguese one of the second book because it shows theme of the book really well, yet it’s very simple. The idea from the French one was good, but as you said, the color sucks and I would have liked to see the broken disc better, taking up much more space.
    Great choices 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

